King's College heads to Junior Secondary Schools Champs

A team of students from King’s College headed south today, to compete in the finals of the New Zealand Junior Secondary Schools Championship in Palmerston North.

The team is comprised of Year 9 and 10 students, who earned their place in the competition during the first half of the season. They will represent Auckland against teams from other Major Associations around the country.

Kings College head of cricket Matt Cowie says that the team is initially comprised of Year 9 students before the summer holidays, who return to school as year 10s.

“We also can select two new Year 9 students coming into the school,” says Cowie.

Last season’s winners were Palmerston North Boys’ High. This year promises a new winner as Central Districts will be represented by New Plymouth Boys’ High. Northern Districts is represented by Hamilton Boys’ High, Wellington by Hutt International Boys School, Canterbury by Christchurch Boys’ High, and Otago by King’s High School – a situation which has the potential for some confusion as King’s College and King’s High face off on Wednesday.

King’s College will compete in five round-robin matches, with the winner being decided on points at the end of the five days of competition.

The team plays their first match against New Plymouth Boys’ High at 10am tomorrow.

King’s College Junior Squad:

Misha Craig
Liam Denny
Corban Drake
Ben Heron
Tom Lindberg
James O’Connor
Josh Olliver
Jack Priddy
Tom Stephenson
Nick Tapper
Karl Wallace
Harrison Waymouth
Jonty Willis