13 Aug, Saturday

College Sport | Finals

School cricket

College Sport | Finals

Praneel HiraSchool cricket

Last week saw three College Sport Finals to close out the summer.

Premier / 1A Boys T20 Final | Mt Albert Grammar vs. King’s College

Mt Albert Grammar 90/6 lost to King’s College 91/8 by two wickets.

Kings College snuck past Mt Albert Grammar in a low-scoring thriller last Wednesday.

Batting first, MAGS were under immediate pressure when Muhammad Abbas struck in the first over. Though Ohm Patel (24) and Priyam Mistry (27) formed a partnership, it took some time with the King’s attack at the top of their game. All six of the visiting bowlers picked up a wicket as King’s kept MAGS to 90/6 from their 20 overs.

While 90/6 didn’t seem like much, MAGS were up ready to fight until the very end. It was well and truly game on when King’s fell to 8/3 in the third over. Toby Irvine kept King’s moving with 37 off 33 balls, but his dismissal gave MAGS another sniff. Mistry followed his batting effort with 2-20, while Maaz Zeb and Dhruv Patel also picked up two wickets.

With the game in the balance at 69/8, Paddy Maher was the hero for King’s, finishing unbeaten on 19 off 12 balls. Maher hit a four and a six to help his side to a two-wicket win in the 18th over.

Premier Girls T20 Final | Baradene College vs. Epsom Girls Grammar School

Epsom Girls 114/6 (B Illing 45) lost to Baradene College 117/2 (P Catton 66) by eight wickets.

Baradene College squared the ledger against Epsom Girls, winning the Premier Girls T20 title on Wednesday.

Batting first at Melville Park, Epsom Girls didn’t let the loss of four overs per side stop them from posting a competitive total. Breearne Illing led the way for Epsom, coming in at 4/2 and scoring 45 off 27 balls. Illing’s 9 fours went a long way to dragging Epsom back into the match and to a total of 114/6. Prue Catton and Issy Gerrand were the best of the Baradene bowlers, claiming two wickets each.

That was simply the first act for Catton, who played the knock of note to set up a comfortable chase. Opening the batting, the allrounder scored 66 from 38 balls, including 12 fours and a six. Fellow opener Jessica McHardy (25*) played the perfect support role to Catton and was there at the end when Fran Jonas hit the winning runs to seal an eight-wicket win.

Premier 1A Limited Overs Final | Sacred Heart vs. Mt Roskill Grammar

Mt Roskill 141 (D Kelleher 3-20) lost to Sacred Heart 144/2 (L Chandulal 47, A Mansfield-Putt 40) by eight wickets.

Sacred Heart were comprehensive victors over Mt Roskill Grammar in the Premier 1A Final on Friday.

Mt Roskill made a reasonable start with the bat as openers Dev Ratra and Neil Patel put on 41 for the first wicket. From there, the Sacred Heart bowlers took over. Oliver Gibson (2-15) sparked the collapse, while Luca Gibson and Elias Falanitule also picked up two wickets apiece. The star with the ball, however, was Dominic Kelleher, who picked up 3-20 from his ten overs. There was late resolve from Robby Singh (28*) and Sher Safi (22), who lifted Mt Roskill to 141 all out in the 45th over.

Sacred Heart’s opening duo, Louie Chandulal (47) and Aaron Mansfield-Putt (40), knocked off the first 96 runs of the chase to ease the nerves of a tricky chase. While Mt Roskill nabbed both openers at 96/1 and then 109/2, the damage was done. Lachlan Stackpole ensured a quick finish, whacking a four and 3 sixes on his way to an unbeaten 27 off 29 balls. Stackpole had Joel Inglis by his side when Sacred Heart claimed the 1A title and promotion in the 34th over.