Auckland A split victories on first day of Quin Series

Auckland A played their first matches of the Quin Series today in Sydney, with mixed results.

The Quin Series is a T20 tournament featuring development squads from the Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder, Hobart Hurricanes and Lahore Qalanders.

Auckland A first faced off against the Hobart Hurricanes, and then just a couple of hours later took the field against the Sydney Sixers.

In the first match, Auckland A restricted Hobart to 147/8 off their 20 overs, with Raja Sandhu taking three wickets.

In reply, Auckland chased down the total in 17.4 overs to win by 7 wickets. Opener Raj Majitha made 64 not out, and Dale Phillips scored 40 off 28 to finish the innings.

In the second game of the day against the Sydney Sixers, Auckland A again bowled first. They were unable to put the brakes on Sixers batsman Justin Avendano, who smashed 122 off 68 balls, including scoring six 6s in an over.

Set 204 to chase, Auckland rallied well, but couldn’t quite reach the total. Brian Barnard scored 84 runs off 42 balls batting at four, and lower down the order Matt McEwan made 27 off 12. After 20 overs Auckland A were eight runs short, finishing at 196/8.

There is plenty to take away from the two games, particularly the way that Auckland A went about both run chases.

They will play the Lahore Qalanders tomorrow and the Sydney Thunder on Wednesday.

Auckland A Squad
Raj Majitha
Ronnie Hira (c)
Brian Barnard
Max O’Dowd
James Parslow
Andy Morrison
Dale Phillips
Fanie DeVilliers
Teja Nidamnuru
Angus McKenzie
Matt McEwan
Raja Sandhu
Ross Teer Braak