Auckland quartet selected for NZ U19 squad

Game Development

Auckland quartet selected for NZ U19 squad

Praneel HiraGame Development, High Performance, International Cricket

Four Auckland representatives have been selected to represent the New Zealand Under 19 team against Bangladesh later this month.

The Auckland quartet of Conor Ansell (Auckland University), Adithya Ashok (Eden Roskill), Jock McKenzie (North Shore) and Quinn Sunde (Takapuna) will join the 18-man squad in Lincoln for five one-day matches, starting September 29th.

NZ U19s Head Coach, Paul Wiseman said he, along with assistants Graeme Aldridge and Adam Miles, had a strong talent pool from which to choose, making for an extremely tough selection process.

“The U19s programme is very much about development, so we are looking to give as many players as possible a taste of international cricket,” Wiseman said.

“The upcoming matches against Bangladesh are (part of) an important series and offer a chance for meaningful, competitive cricket.”

Ashok and McKenzie have been reselected after touring Australia in July for four one-day matches, while Ansell and Sunde have been given their first opportunity to impress at this level ahead of a busy season, culminating in the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup early next year in South Africa.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Sunde is delighted at his selection and is ready to test himself against the touring Bangladesh side.

“It’s a great opportunity. I’m excited about the upcoming series and feel fortunate to be a part of it.” 

NZ U19 squad for Bangladesh tour: 

Conor Ansell (Auckland)
Adithya Ashok (Auckland)
Kristian Clarke (Northern Districts)
William Clark (Central Districts)
Hayden Dickson (Northern Districts)
Joey Field (Central Districts)
David Hancock (Northern Districts)
Ryan Jackson (Wellington)
Fergus Lellman (Northern Districts)
Jock McKenzie (Auckland)
Rhys Mariu (Canterbury)
Ben Pomare (Northern Districts)
Tim Pringle (Northern Districts)
Quinn Sunde (Auckland)
Jesse Tashkoff (Wellington)
Devan Vishvaka (Wellington)
Ollie White (Northern Districts)
Thomas Zohrab (Central Districts)