26 Jun, Sunday

Suburbs win in last day thriller

Club Cricket

Suburbs win in last day thriller

Vanilla BriefClub Cricket

The club cricket season could not have come down to a closer finish in the Hedley Howarth Trophy with eventual champions Suburbs New Lynn having to wait until 7pm on the final day of the season to confirm their success.

Two games decided the title in the final round with Suburbs taking on North Shore at Devonport Domain and Howick Pakuranga hosting Papatoeote. The latter had the best chance of catching Suburbs once they had secured first innings points against Howick and then proceeded to skittle the home side for 124.

Their chase for an outright that would have secured the Hedley Howarth Trophy was looking good until Greg Morgan entered the fray and captured six Papatoetoe wickets, with four of them coming in consecutive deliveries.

That sealed Papatoetoe’s fate and made champions of Suburbs New Lynn, who had done their nerves no favours by losing outright to North Shore, but not before picking up the all important first innings points earlier in the day.

Once the news of Papatoetoe’s collapse filtered through, the celebrations for Suburbs New Lynn could begin and fittingly the two clubs that Hedley Howarth represented in his playing days were involved in the presentation ceremonies in the first year since his sad passing – Suburbs as winners, and North Shore as hosts. Tracey Christiansen, Hedley’s daughter was present at Deveonport Domain to present the trophy to Suburbs captain James Nolen.  

The Premier Wome’s final for the Pearl Dawson Trophy provided further success for a Central West side that won two out of the three trophies on offer over the course of the season.

It was a tight run thing though as they sneaked home by just two runs and if North East could have found someone to stay with captain Victoria Lind it could have been a different story.

Central West’s victory was set up by 54 from Sam Barriball that allowed them to post a respectable 194. Victoria Lind was the mainstay in North East’s reply with 67, but Losi Harford and Shanna Coetzee ensured that Central West got home and secured the title.

The final act of the club season, the Club Cricket Prizegiving, was played out on Wednesday April 8th at Eden Park with over 400 people in attendance to see all the team and individual winners for the 2008/09 season appropriately honoured. For a full list of winners from the evening please click here.

Premier Men Final Round match reports
Premier Womens Final match report