Premier Cricket Short Report – 12 January

With the T20 finalists found mid-week, Saturday saw the resumption of Jeff Crowe Cup and Pearl Dawson Trophy action. The temperature was up, and the heat was on for sides wanting Limited Overs glory later in the season.

At Te Atatu Park, University won the toss and elected to bat first. Waitakere would have done the same and it didn’t take long to work out why. Vijay Anand was outstanding in the first ten overs setting the foundation for University. The right-hander hit a run-a-ball fifty. There wasn’t much in the wicket for Waitakere, but the hosts did slow the scoring when the pace came off the ball.

Charles Lowen drove University into a winning position. He was assertive in chipping over the in-field and ran the Waitakere fielders ragged. Lowen’s hundred was appropriately brought up with a swept single to midwicket. Waitakere fought back in the last ten taking six University wickets to keep University to 318.

Nathan Fletcher took a lot of the early strike and flew out the blocks hitting five fours and a six. Shozib Mirza got into his work when Fletcher was bowled in the 13th over. Jared Challis would come in at four and waste no time. Just when University were starting to build some serious pressure, Challis rattled off 4 fours and 2 sixes in his 30-ball 39.

University rang the changes, Mirza fell short of fifty and the required run-rate continued to lift. A Lowen-like inning never came for Waitakere as Jonathan Low controlled the middle of the innings. Lowen added four stumpings – including two sharp efforts down the leg-side – to his stunning hundred.

Jeff Crowe Cup

Round 5

Waitakere v University
University 318 (C Lowen 104, V Anand 53; T Wannan 3-66, T Ngatai 2-49) defeated Waitakere 210 (S Mirza 47, N Fletcher 41; J Low 3-32, F Allen 2-26) by 108 runs.

Grafton v Parnell
Grafton 131 (J Parsons 48, P Patel 24; H King 3-34, J Fisher 2-19) lost to Parnell 132/8 ( B Rae 31, A Lane 29; D Marsh 4-51, M Snedden 2-24) by two wickets.

Birkenhead v Howick Pakuranga
Howick Pakuranga 341/5 (D Phillips 101*, A Morrison 90; T Treadaway 2-53, J Houghton 2-65) defeated Birkenhead 96 (A Jayasinghe 24; B Walsh 3-13, D Phillips 2-3) by 245 runs.

Eden Roskill v Papatoetoe
Papatoetoe 261/8 (J Dunford 73, L Clark 50; J Kumar 3-51, H Johal 2-41) lost to Eden Roskill 266/9 (B Rowland 79, O Chakraborty 48; L Bhardway 4-44, M Hosking 2-28) by one wicket.

Takapuna v Cornwall
Takapuna 244 (Q Sunde 40, R ter Braak 38; M Gibson 2-12, S Anderson 2-18) defeated Cornwall 216 (Aditya Dhadwal 61, L Dasent 59; M Jones 4-20, R ter Braak 2-25) by 28 runs.

Ellerslie v North Shore
North Shore 253/5 (G Beghin 57, S Hinds 53; R Higgins 3-45) defeated Ellerslie 69/9 (V Khanna 21, M Wall 21; M Strain 3-2, T Chitongo 2-4) by 184 runs.

East Coast Bays v Suburbs New Lynn
Suburbs New Lynn 132 (M Barry 39, V Davies 18; R Schierhout 3-10, L Delport 3-32) lost to East Coast Bays 136/8 (C Briggs 62*, B Smith 16*; D Watson 3-17, V Davies 2-15) by two wickets.

Pearl Dawson Trophy

Round Three

Takapuna v Unitak
Unitak 170/7(K Gurrey 100, S Curtis 28; L Strydom 3-32, L Heaps 2-36) defeated Takapuna 109/6 (S Bultitude 44 L heaps 22; M Cooke 2-29, N Reddy 1-10) by 61 runs.

Howick Pakuranga v Papatoetoe
Howick Pakuranga 146/7 (L Western 43, A Parr 27; L Mulivai 4-22) defeated Papatoetoe 104 (L Telea 75*; J Penfold 5-14, A Parr 2-15) by 42 runs.

Cornwall v Parnell
Parnell 89/7 (K Browne 21*, I Mills 21; E Fulbrook 3-24, A Hucker 1-5) lost to Cornwall 90/4 (E Fulbrook 44*, G Adams 11; G lord 2-16 M Curran 1-13) by six wickets.

Round Four

Parnell v Unitak
Unitak 204/5 (K Gurrey 136*, S Curtis 23*; M Curran 5-28) defeated Parnell 118/7 (S Carr 42, Y Kareem 33; S Curtis 1-12) by 86 runs.

Cornwall v Papatoetoe
Papatoetoe 91/6 (L Telea 38*, K Nonu Lui 12; K Patel 2-25, F Jonas 1-6) lost to Cornwall 92/1 (G Adams40*, E Fulbrook 29*; F Vaelua 1-12) by nine wickets.

Howick Pakuranga v Takapuna
Howick Pakuranga 194/5 (R Patel 73, N Van Tilburg 46; R Nicholas 1-24) defeated Takapuna 48 (Z Williams 14; A Bowden 5-11, M Downes 3-4) by 146 runs.