26 Jun, Sunday

Honda Financial Premiership Report - 9 March

Club Cricket

Honda Financial Premiership Report – 9 March

ShovikClub Cricket

Friday’s showers and Saturday’s early morning downpour put an end to nine out of ten matches in the Honda Financial Premiership. Cornwall’s match against Auckland University was the exception; play got underway shortly after 4:00pm.

After being asked to bat first, Ben Beecroft and Vijay Anand got University off to the perfect start. The pair raced to 50 inside 10 overs. Cornwall needed a wicket and Pira Nirmalendran delivered – Anand out for 21. The scoring slowed as Jack Windler found his feet. With a compulsory declaration looming around lunchtime next week, University couldn’t afford to let the session drift.

Beecroft ensured that didn’t happen, hitting eight boundaries as he brought up his 50, from 63 deliveries. As play entered the final hour, Nirmalendran dismissed Windler for 20. When Teja Nidamanuru and wicketkeeper Amit Dhadwal combined next over to dismiss Charles Lowen without scoring, the old adage of ‘one brings two’ came to mind.

It didn’t stop there. Fanie de Villiers made the biggest strike in the next over – Beecroft caught behind for 54.

Suddenly, the hosts were on a roll. Nidamanuru took Cornwall’s fourth in as many overs. He might have finally conceeded runs after four maidens, but doubtless Nidamanuru would have accepted boundary in exchange for his third wicket two balls later.

University gritted their teeth and tried to make it to stumps without any further damage, but Nidamanuru had the final say with his fourth wicket in nine overs. University will start day two on 135/7.

Hedley Howarth Championship

Auckland University 135/7 (B. Beecroft 54; T. Nidamanuru 4-18) is playing Cornwall.

Papatoetoe vs. Suburbs New Lynn – no play.

Parnell vs. East Coast Bays – no play.

Howick Pakuranga vs. Takapuna – no play.

Tom Hellaby Championship

Waitakere vs. Eden Roskill – no play.

Birkenhead vs. North Shore – no play.

Ellerslie vs. Grafton – no play.

Prichard Cup

Howick Pakuranga vs. Papatoetoe – no play.

Parnell vs. Takapuna – no play.

Unitak vs. Cornwall – no play.