26 Jun, Sunday

Bays claim Premier T20 title

Club Cricket

Bays claim Premier T20 title

Vanilla BriefClub Cricket

East Coast Bays pulled off a stunning victory against Cornwall in the final of the Premier Me’s T20 competition,  with Richard Lane striking the three required from the final delivery.

Premier Twenty20 Major final – East Coast Bays v Cornwall

Cornwall won the toss and chose to bat first. A swift half century from Rob Newton was the best show from a Cornwall batsman as they crafted 121 from their 20 overs.

They were pegged back by Donovan Deeble (4-24) and Brad Schumulian (2-24) with the former close to getting a hattrick in the final over.

The Bays batsmen, despite losing a wicket first ball, started at a lively pace. However, the introduction of off spinners Teja Nidamanuru (0-13) and Matt Whalen (3-19) pegged them back. 

With the game in balance Richard Lane was the man to hold his nerve to see bays across the line whilst Brad Schumulian won Man of the Match for his 42 runs, three wickets and a run out.

Cornwall 121 (R Newton 50, D Deeble 4/22) lost to East Coast Bays 122/6 (B Schmulian 42, R Lane 25*) by four wickets.


Plate final – Waitakere City v Grafton United

Grafton called correctly and sent Waitakere in to bat in this first ever T20 plate final. Skipper Scott Curtis made an early breakthrough picking up Andy Lane caught behind and Grafton were 2/1 after two.

Fairbank (16) got Grafton going and then a partnership of 59 between Rajesaker and Patel pushed the black and gold onto 90/4 after 12. Patel was eventually dismissed for 39 but Chaturvedi and Bing closed it out  with a partnership of 45 and pushed the total up too 150.  Captain Curtis returned the best figures with wickets at the start and end of the innings.

Coleman struck with the second ball of the response to put Waitakere immediately on the back foot and get key wicket Aaron Jeavons to the crease. The overseas player and Aditya Dhadwal (26) took to the Grafton bowlers and put on 59 for the 2nd wicket before Jeavons fell for 34 with the score at 60 after 6.3. The introduction of leg spinning coach Grant Thorpe slammed on the breaks and brought wickets. Five wickets fell for 16 runs as Grafton smelt blood. Thorpe returned figures of 4/26 and skipper Rajesekar 2/15. Sharp runouts also did for two of the Waitakere batsmen as Grafton ran out comfortable winners by 50 runs.

Grafton 150/7 (Parth Patel 39, Sri Rajesaker 30, Shikar Chaturvedi 35; Scott Curtis 4/26 ) defeated Waitakere 101 (Aaron Jeavons 34; Grant Thorpe 4/26) by 50 runs.