Auckland Premier Cricket Short Report – 26 November

It was a bumper day of Premier cricket as teams played out day two of their Round Four fixtures in the Hedley Howarth and Tom Hellaby competitions.

Over at Colin Maiden Park, Cornwall rallied on day two to claim first innings points against the competition leaders, bowling Uni out for 224 on Sunday.

Fanie de Villiers the standout for the visitors taking 3-49 in a strong all-round performance.

Takapuna took the first innings points over Grafton, Dan James claiming 3-19 as they bowled Grafton out for 275.

It was an absolute classic between East Coast Bays and Howick Pakuranga at Lloyd Elsmore Park with the home side claiming an outright win but not before ECB got the first innings points.

Bill Walsh anchored the fourth innings chase for Howick Pak scoring 99* while Louis Deport was once again in the wickets for ECB.

Papatoetoe continued their red-hot form getting the first innings points over Parnell. Nav Aujla was simply sublime taking 7-68 for Pap, the boys from out south looking like genuine title contenders.

In the Tom Hellaby, Suburbs New Lynn chased down a massive 321 against Eden Roskil to get the first innings spoils, led at the front from a superb century from Raj Majithia (140).

Ellerslie were outclassed by North Shore, the boys from Devonport Domain getting an outright victory thanks largely to nine wickets in the match from Tendai Chitongo and a daddy ton from captain Graeme Beghin.

Finally, Waitakere batted once and batted well before bowling Birkenhead out twice to claim an outright win.

Robert Evans-Moore taking 6-58 in the first innings before Todd Wannan took six of his own with 6-46 in the second dig.


Hedley Howarth

Howick Pakuranga vs. East Coast Bays

East Coast Bays 252 all out (S Langridge 101, M Ross 46; R Botadra 3-43, M McClenaghan 3-44) and 153/4 (K Seedall 62, V Raj 40, S Langridge 37*; K McKenzie 3-39) won first innings points but lost outright to Howick Pakuranga 170/9 dec (S Borland 31, A Morrison 73; L Delport 4-77) and 236/7 (B Walsh 99*, A Morrison 42, D Phillips 41; L Delport 3-105)


Papatoetoe vs. Parnell

Papatoetoe 278 all out (C Brookland 49, J Plummer 61, S Money 36, L Clark 47; D Goddard 4-74) won first innings over Parnell 152 all out (A Lane 37; N Aujla 7-68, B Singh 3-47) and 149/5 (F McGregor-Sumpter 50*, A Lane 45)


Grafton vs. Takapuna

Takapuna 408/7 dec (WD O’Donnell 49, C Cachopa 156, HV Van Vuuren 66, DPJ James 50, EH Herd 47) won first innings over Grafton 275 all out (S Variath 36, W Martin 38, I Cockbain 57, A Parikh 42, D Taylor 40; DPJ James 3-19)


Auckland University vs. Cornwall

Cornwall 297 all out (T Nidamanuru 145, S Marra 34, F De Villiers 73; T Wells 3-96, PJ Fletcher 4-39) won first innings against Auckland University 224 all out (BJC Beecroft 53, JH Barrett 47, JAMH Silva 36; F de Villiers 3-49)


Tom Hellaby

Eden Roskill vs. Suburbs New Lynn

Eden Roskill 321 all out (S Sharma 33, V Sirohi 102, B Vora 39, A Abbas 53) lost first innings against Suburbs 340 all out (R Majithia 140, V Davies 70; H Johal 4-59, P Kumar 3-60)


North Shore vs. Ellerslie

Ellerslie 204 all out (A Alam 85, P Narsimhan 66; C Brungar 3-41, T Chitongo 3-35) and 136 (A Deshpande 38, A Edekar34; T Chitongo 6-29, C Brungar 3-40) lost outright to North Shore 330/8 dec (C Mahoney 51, G Beghin 157, G McKenzie 40) and 11/0


Birkenhead vs. Waitakere

Waitakere 330 all out (S Mirza 120, R Kumar 39, J Challis 35, N Fletcher 32, T Ngatai 36; M Patel 3-39, U Ghani 3-36) won outright against Birkenhead 135 all out (R Evans- Moore 6-58) and 115 all out (D Steyn 45; T Wannan 6-46)