Auckland Premier Cricket Short Report – 15 December

After a night of thunder and lightning, a fine morning greeted players across the city for Round Four of the Jeff Crowe Cup and an opening double round of Pearl Dawson T20 action.

In Devonport, North Shore finally won a toss and duly elected to bat. Takapuna turned to spin early and often using three different spinners inside the first ten overs. The hosts were in trouble early when Takapuna skipper Will O’Donnell took a simple return catch.

North Shore’s rebuild was slow. Sam Hinds swept his way to a gritty 41 and Michael Olsen played boldly for 31 to get North Shore in a position to launch in the final twenty overs.

Spin continued throughout with O’Donnell claiming immaculate figures of 4-23 to lead the visitor’s spin quartet. Max O’Dowd also proved a difficult customer to deal with when North Shore required acceleration towards the end of the innings.

Late cameos by Gus McKenzie and Carl Brungar crept North Shore past 150 to a respectable score of 172 all out. Takapuna’s spinners claimed all ten wickets.

The slow and somewhat inconsistent nature of the wicket meant Shore’s total could have been a winning score. Takapuna’s start mirrored North Shore’s – slow and steady. Olsen decided to roll his arm over and his gamble paid off with the wicket of Guy Harley. Zakk Finlay came in at three and did not waste his opportunity adding impetus with a quick-fire 33.

O’Dowd batted responsibly ensuring Takapuna wouldn’t have similar struggles to North Shore’s during the middle overs. He added 78* to his four wickets completing an exceptional match double and guiding Takapuna to a seven-wicket victory with 14 overs to spare.

Results from around the grounds:

Jeff Crowe Cup

Round four:

East Coast Bays 214/8 beat Auckland University 205 by nine runs.

Grafton 216/9 beat Waitakere 213 by three runs.

Eden Roskill 154 lost to Cornwall 160/7 by three wickets.

Howick Pakuranga 251/8 defeated Papatoetoe 65 by 186 runs.

Birkenhead 172 lost to Parnell 173/3 by seven wickets.

Suburbs New Lynn 318/3 beat Ellerslie 145 by 173 runs.

Pearl Dawson Trophy

Round one:

Papatoetoe 109/5 beat Unitak 76 by 33 runs.

Parnell 36 lost to Takapuna 37/1 by nine wickets.

Howick Pakuranga 104 lost to Cornwall 105/3 by seven wickets.

Round two:

Unitak 170/2 beat Cornwall 163/1 by 7 runs.

Parnell 72/7 lost to Howick Pakuranga 73/1 by nine wickets.

Papatoetoe 96/7 lost to Takapuna by seven wickets.