Auckland Premier Cricket Long Report – 20 October

Jeff Crowe Cup – Round 1

Auckland University vs Eden Roskill

Eden Roskill won the toss and elected to bat, but were unable to build a solid partnership against Auckland University at Colin Maiden Park. All five University bowlers got wickets, and Jeet Patel’s figures of 4-27, including three maidens, were crucial in dismissing Eden Roskill for 174 in 46.5 overs.

University never really looked under pressure during the run chase, with their opening partnership making almost 50 runs in the first 10 overs. Barrington Rowland managed to dismiss Ben Beecroft LBW on his first ball, but that brought Finn Allen to the crease – fresh off his maiden first-class 50. Scoring 69 from 76 balls, Eden Roskill were unable to keep him pinned down, and a 70-run partnership with Vijay Anand took University to victory in 38 overs.

Auckland University 178/3 (F Allen 69*, V Anand 47; B Vora 2-30) defeated Eden Roskill 174 (O Chakraborty 50, V Puppalla 33; J Patel 4-27, J Mauricette 3-28)

Cornwall vs Waitakere

Cornwall won the toss and sent Waitakere in to bat at Cornwall Park. Waitakere were then rapidly dismissed, Matthew Gibson taking three wickets in 3.1 overs. Bradley Nash made 44 runs for Waitakere, but the next highest score was 11. Matthew Gibson (3-9) and Lance Rodrigues (2-9) both impressed with the ball.

After bowling out Waitakere for a round 100, Cornwall went out to show there were no demons in the pitch. Evan Jones and Amit Dhadwal combined to chase down the Waitakere score, both batsmen at a strike rate of over 70. Jones scored three sixes in his innings of 50 not out, as Cornwall cruised to victory in fewer than 18 overs.

Cornwall 103/0 (E Jones 50, A Dhadwal 36) defeated Waitakere 100 (B Nash 44; M Gibson 3-9, L Rodrigues 2-9)

Ellerslie vs Birkenhead

Ellerslie won the toss and elected to bat at Michaels Ave Reserve. It was a positive choice, as three of their first four batsmen fired, in particular Abrar Alam who made 86 runs, including eight fours. Supported by Aditya Edekar (36) and Alan Burton (49), when Alam was dismissed in the 41st over, the last five batsmen were able to come in and play shots, all scoring at a run-a-ball or better.

Birkenhead would have been satisfied that the target of 247 was reachable, but three middle-order wickets in two overs stymied that effort. Not even a swashbuckling 42 from Simon Rajwer at eight, including three fours and three sixes could put the run chase back on track. Varun Khanna and Dipesh Patel took three wickets each, and Birkenhead finished all out for 178.

Ellerslie 247/7 (A Alam 86, A Burton 49; U Ghani 3-60) defeated Birkenhead 178 (S Rajwer 42, C Rajapaksha 33; V Khanna 3-28, D Patel 3-39)

Suburbs New Lynn vs Howick Pakuranga

Suburbs New Lynn hosted Howick Pakuranga in their first match back at Ken Maunder Park in a season. Losing the toss and being sent in to bat, Suburbs lost an early wicket, and a slow outfield meant after the first 10 overs they were 42/1.

Sean Solia and Aces teammate Michael Barry combined to take Suburbs to 112/1, but the loss of both batsmen in four overs – Barry for 47 and Solia for 65 – slowed the runs even as James Parslow made 47. After 50 overs the hosts were 237/9. Donovan Grobbelaar took three wickets for 51.

Grobbelaar then came out to star with the bat for Howick Pakuranga, scoring an unbeaten 85 including a whopping eight sixes at a strike rate of over 100. Together with Dale Phillips, who finished on 61 not out, the pair turned what looked to have been a good score and a tight match into an exhibition. Howick Pakuranga ended up winning by 7 wickets.

Suburbs New Lynn 237/9 (S Solia 65, J Parslow 47, M Barry 47; D Grobbelaar 3-51, A Jones 2-39) lost to Howick Pakuranga 238/3 (D Grobbelaar 85*, D Phillips 61*)

Grafton vs Takapuna

Takapuna batted first at Victoria Park, and although they only really had two batsmen distinguish themselves, those two batsmen certainly did their job. Opener Max O’Dowd scored 122, including five sixes, and with number three Rob Sehmi took Takapuna to 254/2. Sehmi’s own century was faster than a run-a-ball, and although both he and O’Dowd perished inside two overs, their handiwork set up Takapuna’s final score of 298.

With the mammoth total to chase, Grafton never really got going. James Parsons put on 66, but he wanted badly for partners. Left-arm bowler Ross ter Braak took 4 for 19, and O’Dowd was again in the action, picking up 3 for 19 to bundle Grafton out for 152.

Grafton 152 (J Parsons 66; R ter Braak 4-19, M O’Dowd 3-19) lost to Takapuna 298/7 (M O’Dowd 122, R Sehmi 102; A Hassan 3-72)

Parnell vs North Shore

Parnell won the toss and elected to bowl at Shore Road, taking regular wickets to dismiss North Shore for 182. Five of the North Shore batsmen perished in the 20’s and Parnell would have been feeling positive about their chances of victory at the break.

That positivity would have taken a severe knock in the first over, as Parnell found themselves at 0/2. From there survival was the name of the game, while North Shore bowlers Carl Brungar and Tendai Chitongo took three wickets each. Parnell only just made it to the hundred, and didn’t make it to the 40th over, as North Shore bundled them out for 101.

Parnell 101 (B Rainger 24; C Brungar 3-15, T Chitongo 3-20) lost to North Shore 182 (G Beghin 27; J Fisher 3-28, D van Deventer 2-34)

East Coast Bays v Papatoetoe

Batting first, East Coast Bays were pushed past the 200-run mark by the particular exploits of batsman Tristian van Ingen-Kal. Ingen-Kal scored nine fours in his innings of 46. Lower down the order, Chris Martin came in at eight and hit 40 runs in 33 balls. These two were the standouts in a batting lineup that worked solidly well, ending their 50 overs at 211/7.

Papatoetoe started their chase well, but losing four wickets in the space of ten runs took the game beyond their reach. Louis Delport took four wickets for 20 runs in 8.1 overs. Each of his victims was snaffled in a different way – one bowled, one LBW, one caught, and one stumped.

East Coast Bays 211/7 (T van Ingen-Kal 46, C Martin 40; H Vyas 3-26) defeated Papatoetoe 152 (N Deol 44, J Plummer 29; L Delport 4-20, M Ross 3-33)

Additional reporting by Praneel Hira (