26 Jun, Sunday

New-look ACES head north for Ford Trophy opener


New-look ACES head north for Ford Trophy opener

Praneel HiraAces

A raft of players on international duty sees ACES Head Coach Heinrich Malan name a new-look ACES side to take on Northern Districts in Sunday’s Ford Trophy opener in Whangarei.

Ryan Harrison, Ollie Pringle and Ross ter Braak are all in line for Ford Trophy debuts, while Brad Rodden is poised to make his first ACES appearance if he were to run out at Cobham Oval.

Last summer’s Ford Trophy Final centurion Colin Munro is also set to feature for the first time this summer.

Rodden previously played three List A matches for the Otago Volts in the 2014/15 season. Seamers Pringle and ter Braak have had a taste of domestic cricket over the past two summers but are yet to feature in the Ford Trophy; for Harrison, who was a part of two Plunket Shield squads in 2019/20, it would be a first appearance in ACES blue.

Malan said it is always special when new players join the squad.

“It’s a big opportunity for a new-look side with so many international call-ups.

“It’s an exciting time for some players we have worked with through the winter and for the team to test our depth.”

Malan acknowledged the efforts of the club network in helping prepare players for the next level.

“It is pleasing to see players stepping through the Auckland club system and we look forward to seeing these guys showcase their skills.

With so much change to the squad, Malan expects the side to flexible.

“There will be a few players who will see different opportunities in different roles over the next couple of weeks. 

“We look forward to the challenges ahead and a return to white-ball cricket.”

Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson and Glenn Phillips are all currently with the BLACKCAPS T20 squad, while Sean Solia remains on NZA duty in Queenstown. 

Auckland ACES vs. Northern Districts
Sunday 29th November
Cobham Oval, Whangarei
11 AM

Auckland ACES | Ford Trophy vs. Northern Districts
Robert O’Donnell (c)
Graeme Beghin
Danru Ferns
Ryan Harrison
Ben Horne
Ben Lister
Colin Munro
Will O’Donnell
Ollie Pringle
Brad Rodden
Will Somerville
Ross ter Braak

Image credit: PhotoSport NZ