26 Jun, Sunday

Suburbs New Lynn claim T20 Title


Suburbs New Lynn claim T20 Title

Vanilla BriefUncategorized


Round 5 – 17th October 2009

Finals – 17th October 2009

Final: Suburbs New Lynn v Waitakere City – Lloyd Elsmore Park 1a
Suburbs New Lynn declared themselves as the Premier Twenty20 champions in a hotly contested final against Waitakere City. Waitakere City’s captain Keeley Todd (32) led them to 108/8 against a strong Suburbs bowling attack. Aces batsman Reece Young’s 49 set the foundation for Suburbs New Lyn’s run chase before they started to falter under continued pressure by Waitakere City. Suburbs steadied themselves after the loss of some quick wickets eventually hitting the winning runs off the last ball of the 19th over with 5 wickets still in hand.

Waitakere City 108/8 (Keeley Todd 35) lost to Suburbs New Lynn 109/5 (Reece Young 49) by 5 wickets.

3rd/4th: Takapuna v North Shore – Lloyd Elsmore Park 8a
Takapuna retained their 3rd place title from last season with an excellent victory over neighbours North Shore. Greg Johnso’s solid 52 not out led Takapuna to 129/8. Despite another great innings by Aces batsman Richard Jones (61*) the target proved too big for North Shore who finished on 110/7.

Takapuna 129/8 (Greg Johnson 52*, Shaun McCann 31) defeated North Shore 110/7 (Richard Jones 61*) by 19 runs.

5th/6th: Papatoetoe v Cornwall – Lloyd Elsmore Park 6a
Papatoetoe turned around their disappointing loss in round 5 to win a low scoring match against Cornwall. Another strong bowling performance by Ish Sodhi (3/23) helped Papatoetoe restrict Cornwall to 83/8. Papatoetoe made short work of their target reaching 87/2 in the 12th over.

Cornwall 83/8 (Ish Sodhi 3/23) lost to Papatoetoe 87/2 (Sarvijith DR 33*) by 8 wickets.

7th/8th: Howick Pakuranga v Parnell – Lloyd Elsmore Park 7a
Parnell capped their day off with another comprehensive win over Howick Pakuranga. A strong bowling performance by Nic Turner (3/16) helped Parnell restrict Howick Pakuranga to 91/6. Dave Houpapa (37) and Tim MacIntosh (35) made short work of their target leading Parnell to 94/2 in the 11th over.

Howick Pakuranga 91/6 (Andy de Booder 30, Nic Turner 3/16) lost to Parnell 94/2 (Dave Houpapa 37, Tim MacIntosh 35) by 8 wickets.

9th/10th: Grafton United v East Coast Bays – Lloyd Elsmore Park 5a
No result due to rain.

11th/12th: Eden Roskill v University Ellerslie – Lloyd Elsmore Park 4a
Eden Roskill finished the day on another winning note with a win over University Ellerslie. Anand Mitha (39) and Sanjay Patel (35*) lead Eden Roskill to 136/5. Tim Henderso’s 3/9 put University Ellerslie under a lot of pressure and the target proved to big as they finished on 103/9.

Eden Roskill 136/5 (Anand Mitha 39, Sanjay Patel 33*) defeated University Ellerslie 103/9 (Tim Henderson 3/9) by 33 runs.

White Section

Eden Roskill v Papatoetoe – Lloyd Elsmore Park 5a
Eden Roskill turned their season around with a hard fought two wicket win to knock Papatoetoe out of contention for the final. Eden Roskill restricted Papatoetoe to 74/7 in trying conditions. In reply Eden Roskill reached 75/8 in the 19th over.

Papatoetoe 74/7 lost to Eden Roskill 75/8 (Ish Sodhi 3/17) by 2 wickets.

East Coast Bays v Takapuna – Lloyd Elsmore Park 4a
Takapuna started the day well with a dominant performance to beat East Coast Bays in their must win match. Paul Hitchcock’s 47 lead Takapuna to 185 all out. In reply East Coast Bays were bowled out for 99.

Takapuna 185/10 (Paul Hitchcock 47, Anil Nathoo 38, Ryan Bezuidenhout 3/39) defeated East Coast Bays 99/10 by 86 runs.

Howick Pakuranga v Suburbs New Lynn – Lloyd Elsmore Park 1a
Suburbs New Lynn continued their drive to the finals with a dominant win over an under performing Howick Pakuranga side. Suburbs New Lynn put in an excellent bowling performance, Jimmy Neesham doing most of the damage (3/21), to bowl Howick Pakuranga out for 64. Black Cap’s batsman Martin Guptill (43) helped Suburbs New Lynn make short work of their target hitting three 6’s in a row to take Suburbs New Lynn to 68/3 in the seventh over.

Howick Pakuranga 64/10 (Jimmy Neesham 3/21) lost to Suburbs New Lynn 68/3 (Martin Guptill 43) by 7 wickets.

Blue Section

Grafton United v North Shore – Lloyd Elsmore Park 6a
North Shore made a strong push to qualify for the final with a hard fought win over Grafton United. Aces batsman Richard Jones (32) helped North Shore to 93/7 before rain interrupted play. Grafton United, set a revised target of 90 off 17 overs, never really got into a winning position finishing 68/7.

North Shore 93/7 (Richard Jones 32, Farhan Mirza 3/22) defeated Grafton United 68/7 (adjusted target 90) by 22 runs.

University Ellerslie v Parnell – Lloyd Elsmore Park 7a
Parnell started the day on a winning note with a strong performance against University Ellerslie. University Ellerslie reached 83/6 before rain interrupted play. Parnell made short work of their revised target of 78 off 17 overs. Aces captain Gareth Hopkins (32) lead Parnell to 78/1 and a nine wicket win.

University Ellerslie 83/6 lost to Parnell 78/1 (adjusted target 78) (Gareth Hopkins 32*) by 9 wickets.

Cornwall v Waitakere City – Lloyd Elsmore Park 8a
Waitakere City continued their drive to the finals with a dominant victory over Cornwall. Aces’ batsman Anaru Kitche’s outstanding knock of 91 led Waitakere City to a very defendable 168/3. An excellent bowling performance by Blair White (4/29) ensured the game was in the bag for Waitakere City, Cornwall finishing on 136/8.

Waitakere City 152/3 (Anaru Kitchen 91) defeated Cornwall 136/8 (adjusted target 169) (Blair White 4/29) by 32 runs.

Final Standings:

1st     Suburbs New Lynn
2nd    Waitakere City
3rd     Takapuna
4th     North Shore
5th     Papatoetoe
6th     Cornwall
7th     Parnell
8th     Howick Pakuranga
9th = Grafton United
          East Coast Bays
          Eden Roskill
          University Ellerslie