26 Jun, Sunday

Westlake take out two day title

School cricket

Westlake take out two day title

Vanilla BriefSchool cricket


Premier A: Two-Day Championship – Round Five


Auckland Grammar v Westlake- AGS 1

Westlake beat AGS by 6 wickets to convincingly win the Auckland Championship title for the 6th time over the last decade. Grammar made 204/7 in their allotted 50 overs, with Clayton Floyd continuing his fine season taking 3-28 and Jack Leggat’s unbeaten 62 the bright spot for AGS. Jaycob Curtling led Westlake’s batting success with a solid 92* while Mitchell Atkins hit a run a ball 38* in chasing down the total in 46 overs. Westlake dominated the two day competition with an unbeaten run.

Auckland Grammar 204/7 (Jack Leggat 62*; Clayton Floyd 3/28) lost to Westlake BHS 205/4 (Jaycob Curlting 92*, Mitchell Atkins 38*) by 6 wickets.

Mt Albert Grammar v Kings College – MAGs 1

Mt Albert Grammar signed off with a comfortable win against the deposed Champions Kings College. Batting first MAG’s amassed 228 for the loss of seven wickets with Aditya Dhadwal 36, Jack Cassidy 47 and Matthew Vercoe-Curtis unbeaten on 58. In response it was Year 13 Brett Randell who did what he has done throughout his whole school career bowling quickly and accurately to pick up 3 for 20. Sam Klippel provided the only resistance with 43 as Kings ended the season being dismissed for 133.

Mt Albert Grammar 228/7 (Aditya Dhadwal 36, Jack Cassidy 47, Matthew Vercoe Curtis 58* )   defeated Kings College 133 (Sam Klippel 43; Brett Randell 3/20) by 96 runs.

Sacred Heart v MacLeans College – Lloyd Elsmore 1

In the battle of the bottom two teams Sacred Heart ensured MacLeans finished with the wooden spoon thanks to a solid all round performance. Batting first skipper Jonny Gooseman led the way with a half century in their total of 198 while Dylan McGall was the pick of the MacLeans bowlers with 4/42. In response Jacob O’Callagha’s spin was the tormentor of Macleans as he picked up 4/38 and dismissed the opposition for 127.

Sacred Heart 198 (Johnny Gooseman 50; Dylan McGall 4/42) defeated MacLeans College 127 (Jacob O’Callaghan 4/38) by 72 runs.

Points Table
Westlake 14, Mt Albert Grammar 11, Auckland Grammar 9, Kings College 8, Sacred Heart 4, MacLeans College 0

Premier A: Two-Day Plate – Round Two

Kelston v Rangitoto- Kelston 1

Rangitoto’s winless season ended with a poor batting performance as Kelston ran out comfortable victors by 118 runs. Batting first KBHS scored 162/9 with all rounder Travis Ngatai anchoring the innings with a knock of 64 from the number 3 spot. T Brown bowled well for the Shore school returning figures of 3/14 in his ten overs. Kelsto’s bowling was dominated by Josh Cunis who blasted Rangitoto away with amazing figures of 6/12 and Ngatai completed a good game with 3/15.

Kelston Boys High School 162/9 (Travis Ngatai 64; T Brown 3/14) defeated Rangitoto College 45 (Josh Cunis 6/12, Travis Ngatai 3/15) by 118 runs.

St Peters College v St Kentigern College – St Kentigern 1

Last weeks rain did’t change the equation in the plate. Winner of this game equals champion. SPC batted first and put 162 on the board with Jeremy Myers continuing his good seam bowling form with figures of 4/27. St Kentigern made hard work of the chase as Avi Achary picked up 4 for the away side. Myers’ 30 with the bat completed a good game for him and with wicketkeeper Daniel Young’s unbeaten 45 they did enough to secure the plate for the young St Kentigern side.

St Peters College 162 (Jeremy Myers 4/27) lost to St Kentigern College 165/7 (Daniel Young 45*, Jeremy Myers 30; Avi Achary 4/29) by 3 wickets.

Avondale College v Rangitoto- Rangitoto 1

The Rosmini run machine continued right up until the final week but this week it was not just star man Connor Ridge. Ridge got 47 but Daniel Hilton Jones (58) and Alex Du Rand (68) were the mainstays of the Rosmini total of 315. Avondale put up a spirited fight in response reaching 182 thanks to Mark Van Tillburg and captain Harshal Vyas before being fully dismissed. Lead bowler for Rosmini was seamer Jake Fitzgibbon with 3/56.

Rosmini College 315 (Alex Du Rand 68, Daniel Hilton Jones 58, Connor Ridge 47; Zubayr Smith 3/38) defeated Avondale College 182 (Mark Van Tillburg 56, Harshal Vyas 32; Jake Fitzgibbon 3/56) by 134 runs.

Points Table
St Kentigern College 10, St Peters College 8, Rosmini 8, Kelston Boys High 4, Avondale 2, Rangitoto 0

NZCT Year 9 Boys Championship

Final: Sacred Heart College v St Kentigern College

SHC finally managed to book a trip down to nationals in Taupo and put their name on the trophy after a few close calls in recent years. Batting first Sacred Heart were in trouble early but opener Ben Westerlund’s 30 and a strong partnership between Jack 49 and Troy Tapsell 34 saw them to 138/6 in their 40 overs. St Kentigern skipper Sandeep Patel was the pick of their bowlers with 3/24 in his 8 overs. St Kentigern College’s innings never really gained any traction and Troy Tapsell picked up 5/24 as Sacred Heart applied pressure all over the field and dismissed their opponents 42 runs short of victory

Sacred Heart 138/6 (Ben Westerlund 30, Jack 49, Troy Tapsell 34; Sandeep Patel 3/24) defeated St Kentigern College 97 (Troy Tapsell 5/24) by 42 runs.

Performances of note during Tournament

Jack                     Sacred Heart             49  versus SKC
Dale Phillips        Sacred Heart              44 versus Kings
Callum Coutts     Auckland Grammar    69  versus MAG’s
Ben Beecroft        Westlake                   62 versus MacLeans
Jeremy Washer    SPC                           40 versus SKC
S Wilson              Kings                        42* versus MAG’s
Fraser Campbell  MAGs                       40 versus Kings
Flynn McGregor Sumpter    AGS           48 versus Kings
Henry Evans        Sacred Heart             41* versus MAG’s
Sudhakar             MacLeans                 42* versus SKC
Dale Phillips        Sacred Heart             100* versus AGS
Harry Plummer    SPC                           98*  versus MacLeans
Sandeep Patel      SKC                          55* versus Westlake

Troy Tapsell        Sacred Heart        5/24    versus        SKC
Tom Marsh        Kings College        4/9    versus        SHC
Tom Leggat        AGS            4/14    versus        MAGs
Le Shur Vermuelen    MacLeans        4/31    versus        Westlake
Angus McKenzie    Westlake        5/4(inc Hattrick) v    MacLeans
Freddie Turner        SKC            4/15     versus        MacLeans
Sharma            AGS            4/32    versus        Sacred