Under-21s and Under-19s take out National Champs

It has been a doubly successful tournament week for Auckland – both the Women’s Under-21 team and the Men’s Under-19 team have picked up national titles.

The U21s were undefeated through the tournament and opening batsman Saachi Shahri took away the trophy for Player of the Tournament.

Shahri’s batting was a cut above the opposition – she was leading run-scorer by more than 100 runs.

Shahri says that after seven years playing in the tournament, it was extremely satisfying to have both team and personal success in her final year.

“It’s been an unreal week, and it’s so good to get the cup back from CD.”

“I’m really happy to be top run-scorer, and to go unbeaten through this whole tournament – you can’t ask for more than that.”

Bowlers Josie Penfold and Jesse Prasad were part of a five-way tie for leading wicket-taker, with 10 wickets each. This was made more impressive as the three other bowlers sharing the lead had been able to bowl an extra innings on the final day. Auckland hadn’t been able to get out to bowl due to ground conditions against Northern Districts.

Plenty of the victorious U21 squad will be lining up for the Hearts on Monday against the Blaze in the first of the Burger King Super Smash games at Eden Park Outer Oval.

In Lincoln, Auckland U19 had to win their final T20 against Otago to be assured of the title.

Getting to 126, Auckland’s strength in their bowling stocks again showed. Adam Jones picked up a four wicket bag as Auckland strangled the Otago batting and won by 24 runs.

The U19s won six from eight games, and their bowling was so strong that while none of the top 10 run-scorers were from the tournament-winning team, three of the top eight wicket-takers were.

Spinner Carl de Beer took far and away the most wickets, his 17 being five more than second place. Both Jones and Lucas Dasent picked up 11 apiece.

Image: Mike Tillett.

Header Image: Anna Peterson.