Auckland A split victories in Taupo

High Performance

Auckland A split victories in Taupo

Praneel HiraHigh Performance

Auckland A played two matches on day one of the two-day T20 Quadrangular Tournament at Owen Delaney Park in Taupo.

The two matches had the same winning margin – 10 runs. Unfortunately, Auckland was on the wrong end of that margin in their first match against Wellington.

Although the A team has plenty of bowling firepower, they were unable to make massive inroads into the Wellington A team batting lineup – the seven bowlers kept the run-rate in check but couldn’t convert that pressure into wickets. In 20 overs, Wellington put on 131/5.

Auckland A didn’t get off to the best start with the openers back in the shed within two overs. From there, the choice was to go hard or go home. Craig Cachopa top-scored with 33, and Dale Phillips put on 20. The asking rate crept up and Auckland began to lose wickets through run-outs. That was the way the innings wrapped up, as Andrew Morrison was run out for 19 in the 19th over and Auckland were all out for 121.

Auckland opted to bat first in their second match of the day against Northern Districts A. They got off to a better start, which gave Phillips – 36 off 28 – and Donavan Grobbelaar – 42 off 28 – a platform to launch from. In 20 overs, Auckland reaches 127/7.

For the bowlers, wickets were again in short supply. However, dot balls were not. ND A’s top four struggled to make even a run-a ball. Mitchell McClenaghan went for just 18 off four overs, and Teja Nidamanuru took two wickets in two overs. When Peter Bocock came in and gave it some tap, it was too late. ND finished their 20 overs at 117/5 – 10 runs short.

Tomorrow Auckland A plays Central Districts A at 10am, and in the afternoon first and second play off, as do third and fourth.

Auckland A vs Wellington A scorecard

Auckland A vs Northern Districts A scorecard

Image credit: