HEARTS Trio sign Women's Development Contracts


HEARTS Trio sign Women’s Development Contracts

Praneel HiraHearts

Three of the Auckland HEARTS brightest talents have signed Development Contracts for the 2020-21 season as New Zealand Cricket looks to further invest in the women’s game.

All-rounder Skye Bowden is given her second Development Contract after an injury-plagued 2019/20 season, while Bella Armstrong and Fran Jonas sign on after impressive showings last summer.

Bowden has been working hard to be ready for the coming season and cannot wait to get stuck in.

“I’m greatly humbled by the opportunity and I’m again excited to improve my skills and further build my knowledge of the game.”

Jonas, 16, is the youngest player to be included in the list and the left-arm orthodox spinner made quite the impression in 2019/20.

Jonas made her HEARTS debut last season and has shown plenty of promise in her fledgeling career, according to Head Coach, Nick White.

“Fran is most definitely a promising young cricketer with a calm, relaxed temperament,” said White.

“She has a fluent, economical action and an excellent work ethic and this is sure to be a great opportunity to continue her development in the game.

“For us, as coaches, it’s about ensuring we look after not just her cricket but also her well-being. She’s still a 16-year-old and we need to be mindful of that as she progresses with her cricket.”

Armstrong, 20, is already an experienced member of the HEARTS bowling attack with 80 wickets to her credit.

The right-arm seamer set the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield alight last summer, not only recording the best ever List A figures of 7-18, but also establishing a new season tally record for the HEARTS, claiming 24 scalps.

Part of the criteria for selecting the Development Contract list is that the players have the potential to become NZC Contracted Players in the future.

NZC Development Contracts 

Bella Armstrong – Auckland HEARTS
Skye Bowden – Auckland HEARTS

Rebecca Burns – Wellington Blazw
Eden Carson – Otago Sparks
Katie Gurrey – Northern Spirit
Fran Jonas – Auckland HEARTS
Jacinta Savage – Canterbury Magicians
Jess Watkin – Central Hinds