26 Jun, Sunday

Bettr District Tournament | Men's U19 | 22 November

Game Development

Bettr District Tournament | Men’s U19 | 22 November

Praneel HiraGame Development

Eastern are the Men’s U19 Bettr District Tournament champions after a tense final against Western on Sunday at Te Atatu Park.

FINAL | Eastern U19 181 (J Duffy 54, S Mortimer 34, A Ashok 4-29) defeated Western U19 156 (A Ashok 56, K Prakash 4-9) by 25 runs. 

Western dominated the first quarter of the final with Muhammed Abbas (2-31) and Adithya Ashok (4-29) strangling Eastern’s dangerous top order. When all hope seemed lost, wicketkeeper Jack Duffy (54) and Sebastian Mortimer (34) were able to turn the match in Eastern’s favour with an eighth-wicket partnership of 91. By the time Western finally wrapped up the tail, Eastern had made their way to 181, all out on the final ball of their 50 overs.

It was a rollercoaster chase for Western, losing two wickets inside the first ten overs before Ashok (56) and Michael Devoy stabilised the inning. The matched turned one final time when KV Prakash (4-9) and Achindra Molamure (2-38) ran through Western’s middle-order. It was enough to seal a 25-run victory and the title.

Tuaraki U19 219 (BJ Jacobs 137, K Kieser 3-31, D Smith 3-39) defeated Waitemata U19 107 (B Stuart 3-27) by 112 runs.

Bevon-John Jacobs (137) hit the day’s biggest score to help Tuaraki to a resounding victory over Waitemata. Jacob’s ton was far and away the highest score for his side with no other Tuaraki batter making 20. A big reason for that was the bowling of Waitemata duo Kyle Kieser (3-31) and Dylan Smith (3-39). 

Chasing 220, Waitemata made a reasonable start before Ben Stuart (3-27) made inroads. Effective spells by Noah Robb (2-0) and Isaac Miller (2-9) ensured Waitemata wouldn’t recover and Tuaraki eventually won by 112 runs. 

Manukau U19 150 (O Madaan 42, L Troughear 30) lost to Central U19 152/4 (E Arora 43, D Kharel 40*) by six wickets.

Central finished with a convincing six-wicket win over Manukau to end the tournament. Ojas Madaan (42) and Lucas Troughear (30) stood tallest with the bat for Manukau, but there wasn’t much resolve once the pair’s 57-run third-wicket was broken. Seven different Central bowlers claimed a wicket as Manukau were bowled out for 150.

Connah Thompson made the chase interesting, nabbing both openers inside the first seven overs. Eeshan Arora (43) and Dimithri Gallage (26) consolidated to put the chase back on track before Dinesh Kharel (40*) and Liam Wheeler (23*) sealed victory in the 38th over. 

Next up: The next Bettr District Tournaments are on from 15th – 17th December for the U19 Women and Under 15 Girls.