Summer of Cricket | Plunket Shield, Ford Trophy and HBJ Shield Schedules

Domestic Cricket


Summer of Cricket | Plunket Shield, Ford Trophy and HBJ Shield Schedules

Praneel HiraDomestic Cricket

Cricket is back! Eden Park will see more action in 2020/21 with the ACES and HEARTS playing all of their home games at the Outer Oval this summer.

NZC today revealed the schedules for the historic eight-round first-class championship, together with New Zealand’s twin one-day national competitions: the men’s Ford Trophy and women’s Hallyburton Johnstone Shield. 

All will feature new playing conditions this season to mitigate risks posed by the COVID-19 virus, and to protect the safety of players and match officials.

NZC Head of Cricket Operations, Richard Brewer said NZC had adopted the majority of the ICC’s COVID-19 regulations — which many cricket followers will have already seen in effect in this year’s northern hemisphere summer.

“This means New Zealand domestic players will not be permitted to use saliva to shine the ball, and umpires will no longer hold the players’ caps or other items of clothing,” said Brewer.

“The new rules also allow for the replacement of players displaying symptoms of COVID-19 during a match, with the option for the player to return to the game following a negative result.

The Plunket Shield kicks off in less than two weeks with a visit by the Otago Volts, from Tuesday 20 October. There is a settled look to the Shield schedule with four matches (two home, two away) in the early October / November window and four matches (two home, two away) in the March / April window with the last match of the season starting Saturday 3 April. 

The HEARTS Hallyburton Johnstone Shield defence starts on the road against the Central Hinds at Pukekura Park on Saturday 21 / 22 November, while the road for back-to-back Ford Trophy triumphs sees the ACES kick off their campaign at Cobham Oval against Northern Districts on Sunday 29 November. 

Full Fixtures:

Plunket Shield

ACES vs. Otago Volts – Tuesday 20 – Friday 23 October | Eden Park Outer Oval
ACES vs. Central Stags – Wednesday 28 – Saturday 31 October | Eden Park Outer Oval
Central Stags vs. ACES – Thursday 5 – Sunday 8 November | Saxton Oval, Nelson
Wellington Firebirds vs. ACES – Saturday 14 – Tuesday 17 November | Basin Reserve, Wellington
Northern Districts vs. ACES – Thursday 11 – Sunday 14 March | Cobham Oval, Whangarei
Otago Volts vs. ACES – Thursday 18 – Sunday 21 March | Queen’s Park, Invercargill
ACES vs. Canterbury – Saturday 27 – Tuesday 30 March | Eden Park Outer Oval
ACES vs. Wellington Firebirds – Saturday 3 – Tuesday 6 April | Eden Park Outer Oval

Ford Trophy

Northern Districts vs. ACES – Sunday 29 November | Cobham Oval, Whangarei
Northern Districts vs. ACES – Tuesday 1 December | Cobham Oval, Whangarei
ACES vs. Otago Volts – Sunday 6 December | Eden Park Outer Oval
ACES vs. Otago Volts – Tuesday 8 December | Eden Park Outer Oval
ACES vs. Wellington Firebirds – Sunday 13 December | Eden Park Outer Oval
ACES vs.Wellington Firebirds – Tuesday 15 December | Eden Park Outer Oval
ACES vs. Central Stags – Friday 19 February | Eden Park Outer Oval
ACES vs. Central Stags – Sunday 21 February | Eden Park Outer Oval
Canterbury vs. ACES – Friday 26 February | Mainpower Oval, Ranigora
Canterbury vs. ACES – Tuesday 28 February | Mainpower Oval, Rangiora

Hallyburton Johnstone Shield

Central Hinds vs. HEARTS – Saturday 21 November | Pukekura Park, New Plymouth
Central Hinds vs. HEARTS – Sunday 22 November | Pukekura Park, New Plymouth
Otago Sparks vs. HEARTS – Saturday 5 December | Queen’s Park, Invercargill
Otago Sparks vs. HEARTS – Sunday 6 December | Pukekura Park, New Plymouth
HEARTS vs. Northern Districts – Saturday 19 December | Eden Park Outer Oval
HEARTS vs. Northern Districts – Sunday 20 December | Eden Park Outer Oval
Wellington Blaze vs. HEARTS – Saturday 20 February | Karori Park, Wellington
Wellington Blaze vs. HEARTS – Sunday 21 February | Karori Park, Wellington
HEARTS vs. Canterbury – Saturday 13 March | Eden Park Outer Oval
HEARTS vs. Canterbury – Sunday 14 March | Eden Park Outer Oval