Strong U19 side to represent Auckland at National Tournament

Head coach Ian West and assistant Mike Tillett have named a strong Auckland Under-19 squad to represent the region at this year’s national tournament.

The tournament starts on December 4 and is held in Lincoln, Canterbury with Auckland returning after narrowly missing out in the final last year.

“A few of the boys were there last season and I’m sure they will want to go one step further and win the whole thing,” says coach Ian West.

West says his side have all the bases covered with a strong spin bowling contingent as well as a deep batting lineup.

He says the all-round seam bowlers they have picked will add to that batting depth as well as providing options with the ball.


Auckland U19 squad

Finn Allen – Captain (AUCC)

Dale Phillips (Howick Pakuranga)

Ben Beecroft (AUCC)

Ryan Schierhout (Westlake/East Coast Bays)

Tristan van Ingen-Kal (East Coast Bays)

Oyishik Chakraborty (Eden Roskill)

Sean Playle (Suburbs New Lynn/Kelston)

Ryan Harrison (East Coast Bays)

Adam Jones (Howick Pakuranga)

Harry Miller (Parnell/AGS)

Clay Watson (Grafton United)

Carl de Beer (Grafton United)

Matthew Gibson (Cornwall)

Non-travelling reserves

Callum Douglas (Parnell)

Zakk Finlay (Takapuna)

James Pickering (Grafton United)

Ben Westerlund (Papatoetoe)


Coach: Ian West

Assistant Coach: Mike Tillett