Hearts pumped for WHITE FERNS summer

Auckland Cricket can boast four national representatives with Maddy Green, Holly Huddleston, Katie Perkins and Anna Peterson picking up WHITE FERNS central contracts for 2017/18.

All four girls are key members of the Auckland Hearts setup and will be looking to balance domestic duties with some exciting international opportunities.

Green, along with Wellington’s Amelia Kerr are the two players to make the 15-player list for the first time, while all-rounder Anna Peterson has fought her way back onto the contract list.

“It’s really exciting and I feel very privileged to be offered a contract for the first time,” says Green.

“I’ve been in and out of this side for the past few years so it’s fantastic to be recognised in this respect,” she says.

“To be back in the WHITE FERNS mix means a lot, I’ve put a lot of hard work in over the past couple of seasons so to have that recognised at the top level is an honour,” says Peterson.

Auckland Hearts coach Dean Flyger is happy for the four girls selected and hopes they can continue performing at the top level.

“It’s a great opportunity for them all and awesome for Maddy to pick up her first contract after years of hard work with the Hearts. They’ve all put the work in and I wish them all the best,” says Flyger

WHITE FERNS coach Haidee Tiffen says Peterson and Green have earnt their spots in the squad.

“Maddy’s shown plenty of promise in her limited opportunities and we’ve been impressed by her all-round skills and athleticism.

“Anna’s made it back onto the list through pure performance. She’s taken her chances when they’ve come and obviously claimed that memorable hat-trick in our Twenty20 series win against Australia earlier this year,” says Tiffen.

The WHITE FERNS are set to be in action next month against Pakistan with a tour to the UAE to be announced shortly.


WHITE FERNS Central Contract List

Suzie Bates (30)

Erin Bermingham (29)

Sophie Devine (28)

Maddy Green (24) *

Holly Huddleston (29)

Leigh Kasperek (25)

Amelia Kerr (16) *

Katey Martin (32)

Thamsyn Newton (22)

Katie Perkins (29)

Anna Peterson (27) *

Rachel Priest (32)

Hannah Rowe (20)

Amy Satterthwaite (30)

Lea Tahuhu (26)

*denotes new contract

(age in brackets)