26 Jun, Sunday

University win Pearl Dawson Trophy

Club Cricket

University win Pearl Dawson Trophy

Praneel HiraClub Cricket

Auckland University have lifted the Pearl Dawson Trophy for 2019/20 after a pair of commanding victories on T20 Finals Day at Onewa Domain.

Premier Women
Preliminary Final: Auckland University vs. Cornwall

An all-round effort in the field and with the ball paved the way for University’s passage to the Final. 

No University bowler conceded more than six runs per over as a young Cornwall side struggled to build into the innings. Cornwall’s top-three took their time, conserving wickets for the second half of the inning. Number three Claire Crooks top-scored with 25 not out, while Emily Thurman gave the total a late boost with 21 off 15 balls as Cornwall finished on 98/2. The wickets were shared around for University with skipper Alex Eastwood picking up 2-17.

In reply, Katie Gurrey’s 62 off 44 balls secured University’s place in the final. The opener’s knock included 11 fours and the only six of the match as University won by eight wickets.

Cornwall 98/8 lost to Auckland University 99/2 (K Gurrey 62) by eight wickets.

Final: Takapuna vs. Auckland University

Auckland University turned the tables in a rematch of last weekend’s match to decide top qualifier and hosting rights of Finals Day. 

Again it was Katie Gurrey who played a significant role with the bat. The right-hander raced out of the blocks hitting 5 fours on her way to 25. Claire Mains (2-38), however, stuck to her task and in the fourth over, had Gurrey caught at mid-off.

The second-wicket partnership between Emily Handyside (32) and Jesse Prasad (24) gave University a platform to launch from during the death overs. For Takapuna, spinners Sydney Bultitude and Lauren Heaps bowled eight tidy overs. The pressure was on University to finish off the innings; Naomi Matthews and Vic Lind did just that taking 26 from the last ten balls to lift University to 127/5.

On a slowing wicket, Takapuna would need a platform of their own. Ruby Worrall (30) and Anna Browning (20) provided one, putting on 52 for the first wicket. In the 14th over, Ahalya Babu turned the game with two wickets in three balls. First Anlo van Deventer picked out Matthews on the legside boundary before Bultitude was bowled off her second ball.

When Prue Catton pounced on a ball in the covers and hit the stumps at the bowler’s end, Browning had to go and Takapuna slipped into further trouble. Requiring 54 runs from the final five overs, Roz McNeill (26*) fought through to the end. Jesse Prasad and Alex Eastwood, however, returned to the attack with two pressure overs left. The University pair conceded five apiece to seal a 16-run victory and lift the Pearl Dawson Trophy.

Auckland University 127/5 (E Handyside 32) defeated Takapuna 111/4 (R Worrall 30) by 16 runs.