26 Jun, Sunday

Takapuna wins Prichard Cup with impressive batting performance

Club Cricket

Takapuna wins Prichard Cup with impressive batting performance

Praneel HiraClub Cricket

An unbeaten century from Takapuna batsman Lauren Down helped propel the Ponies to victory against Cornwall in the Prichard Cup final.

Winning the toss and electing to bat, Cornwall made a solid start, opening pair Saachi Shahri and Gemma Adams reaching 81 in the first 25 overs. Naveena Hira snared Shahri’s wicket for 34, which brought Katie Perkins to the crease.

Perkins upped the scoring rate and Cornwall were looking comfortable until Adams was LBW to Roz McNeill for 65. Then the Cornwall middle-order struggled to gain traction against the Takapuna bowlers.

While Perkins marshalled the scoring from one end, Cornwall’s final six batsman could only add 24 runs between them. After 50 overs, Cornwall had reached 215/7 – Perkins on 72* off 61.

Lauren Down and Maddy Probert opened the batting, and Down began scoring almost immediately.

Fran Jonas bowled Probert for five, and Arlene Kelly came in to join Down. The pair complemented each other’s batting, and as they got going, there was a sense that if Cornwall were going to keep Takapuna out, they needed a breakthrough fast.

That didn’t happen. Instead Down and Kelly batted together past the 30th over, putting on 133 runs. The partnership saw plenty of lovely shotplay from both batsmen and Cornwall couldn’t build any real pressure.

When Clare Crooks had Kelly caught behind for 40, it was too little too late.

Down, then on 99, was unfazed by the break. She brought up her century with captain Anlo van Deventer at the other end, and set about getting to the Cornwall total quickly, including hitting a huge six back over the bowler’s head and almost into the hospital next to Cornwall Park.

Takapuna cruised to victory, winning by eight wickets in the 44th over. Down finished the innings on 133 not out, van Deventer on 24.

Prichard Cup Final

Cornwall 215/7 (K Perkins 72*, G Adams 65; A Kelly 3-36, N Hira 2-39) lost to Takapuna 218/2 (L Down 133*, A Kelly 40, A van Deventer 24*; C Crooks 1-29) by eight wickets.

Honda Financial Premiership Scorecards:

Prichard Cup placing matches

Papatoetoe 244/8 (R Lilii 91, L Telea 33; G Lord 3-46) defeated Parnell 96 (S Naidu 26, G Lord 24; T Mataroa 3-20, T Lafai 2-8) by 148 runs.

Howick Pakuranga 122 (H Topp 27, L Western 23; K Anderson 4-26) lost to Unitak 125/5 (A Peterson 70*, B Perry 16; J Penfold 2-42, A Bowden 1-9) by five wickets.

Hedley Howarth Championship – Round 8, Day 1

Howick Pakuranga 383 (B Walsh 126, D Ferns 94; B Smith 5-70, L Delport 3-105) is playing East Coast Bays.

Papatoetoe 135 (D Bhatti 27, K Yadav 26; M Jones 5-52, R ter Braak 2-16) lost first innings to Takapuna 232/2 (M Sclanders 93*, M O’Dowd 63; D Bhatti 1-26).

Cornwall 226 (Ad Dhadwal 69, M Guptill-Bunce 65; M Barry 3-29, S Devereaux 3-54) is playing Suburbs New Lynn 156/3 (M Barry 35*, J Cracknell 31; S Nair 1-26).

Auckland University 207 (F Allen 89, J Windler 49; O Pringle 4-19, K Russell 4-59) is playing Parnell 80/2 (F McGregor-Sumpter 31*, A Lane 30; C Jasmat 1-15).

Tom Hellaby Championship – Round 8, Day 1

Ellerslie 97 (A Burton 24; B Vora 5-24, B Rowland 1-2) and 71/4 (A Edekar 28*; B Rowland 2-16) lost first innings to Eden Roskill 133 (Z Malik 67, S Desai 21; M Wall 7-25, A Burton 2-32).

Grafton 181/9 dec. (N Bhana 44, S Variath 39; A Christian 4-50, M Patel 2-18) is playing Birkenhead 97/7 (A Jayasinghe 41, A Christian 15*; C de Beer 4-22, H Robertson 2-32).

Waitakere 188 (B Cachopa 57, S Mirza 33; T Chitongo 4-47, C Brungar 3-45) is playing North Shore 53/3 (G Beghin 28*; T Wannan 2-21).