26 Jun, Sunday

Takapuna claim first trophy of the seaso

Club Cricket

Takapuna claim first trophy of the seaso

Vanilla BriefClub Cricket

Takapuna secured the only trophy that they could not win in 2012/13 as they defeated Papatoetoe by just 17 runs in a closely contested Prichard Cup final at Shepherd’s Park last Saturday.

Takapuna batted first but their innings got off to a nightmare start when Hearts captain Victoria Lind was dismissed without scoring by Auckland teammate Holly Huddlestone.

Huddlestone was the standout performer with the ball for the visitors returning the excellent figures of 4/25 from her ten overs while Arlene Kelly and Amy Courtney shared the other six wickets. Lauren Down top scored for Taka with 22 but 48 extras helped boost the first innings total to 150 before the hosts were dismissed.

Papatoetoe opening pair Kelly (15) and Tessa Hickson (15) got the reply off to a solid start before Huddlestone and Alex Eastwood (17) continued the momentum.

With the game looking like it could go either way Lucille Matthews stepped up for Takapuna producing a match winning display with the ball.

The Hearts seamer picked up the wickets of Hickson then Eastwood and with Leah Watts dismissing Huddlestone for 33 at the other end the hosts were on top. Matthews picked up a further two wickets to finish with the outstanding figures of 4/17 from 10 overs while Claire Mains took 2/12 from seven to help seal the victory and the Championship.

Takapuna skipper Lind was understandably delighted with her teams performance in a low scoring encounter and was in little doubt as to who the star performer was for her side: “We knew we would be in for a close game. We did’t have the greatest of starts but realised early on that a score of 140 or 150 would put the pressure on the opposition especially in a final.

“Lucille really stepped up for us. She played a solid innings with the bat and then got a breakthrough with her first ball and all four of her wickets were clean bowled.”

With the first trophy of the season secured Lind’s side will now turn their focus to the other competitions with three championships still to be determined: “The T20s continue this week and then after Christmas we will look to re focus. As I said last week after every game all teams start again on zero so we will just take it one game at a time and try to improve each week as a team and as individuals.”

Cornwall finished the competition in third place after a comprehensive victory over Auckland University at Colin Maiden Park.

The hosts suffered a major blow before the game begun with University star player Sara McGlashan withdrawing through injury and the visitors took advantage as White Ferns Maddy Green and Katie Perkins put together an unbroken 197 run partnership.

Green (107no) and Perkins’ (96no) efforts helped the visitors reach 252/2 from their 50 overs and with Katie Gurrey (37) the only Varsity player to reach double figures the visitors would fall well short of that target.

A superb all round display from Sam Curtis secured fifth position for Waitakere City as they defeated Eden Roskill by eight wickets at Te Atatu Park.

The visitors batted out there allotted 50 overs when they took first dig to post a total of 105/9. Katherine Spence top scored with 32 however Curtis’ figures of 4/10 from 10 overs ensured the hosts were restricted to an under par total.

Curtis then played a staring role with the bat striking an unbeaten 38 to guide her side to victory and secure fifth position in the final competition standings.

Final Positions:

Winners        Takapuna
Runner Up    Papatoetoe
3rd               Cornwall
4th               Auckland University
5th               Waitakere City
6th               Eden Roskill

Finals Results:

Championship Match – Takapuna 150 (L Down 22, H Huddlestone 4/25, A Kelly 3/30, A Courtney 3/37) defeated Papatoetoe 133 (H Huddlestone 33, L Matthews 4/17) by 17 runs to win the Prichard Cup.

Third Place Playoff – Cornwall 252/2 (M Green 107no, K Perkins 96no) defeated Auckland University 51 (K Gurrey 37, G Guy 4/4, R Cox 3/8) by 201 runs.

Fifth Place Playoff – Eden Roskill 105/9 (K Spence 32, S Curtis 4/10) lost to Waitakere City 106/2 (S Curtis 38no) by eight wickets.

Prichard Cup Individual Leaders:

Sara McGlashan     Auckland University    117.9
Lily Mulivai            Waitakere City             107.4
Rosie Cox              Cornwall                      98.11

Leading Run Scorers
Sara McGlashan     Auckland University       384
Katie Perkins         Cornwall                        274
Victoria Lind         Takapuna                       237

Leading Wicket Takers
Lily Mulivai            Waitakere City                 15
Rosie Cox              Cornwall                         13
Holly Huddlestone Papatoetoe                       9