26 Jun, Sunday

T20 Championship | 26 JAN

Club Cricket

T20 Championship | 26 JAN

Praneel HiraClub Cricket

Premier Men
T20 Championship | Round 7


Hibiscus Coast 73/9 (M Jones 3-14) lost to Takapuna 74/2 (B Beecroft 46*) by eight wickets – match reduced to 16 overs.

Takapuna booked a home semifinal after a resounding win in the far north over Hibiscus Coast. The Pirates’ attack made early inroads before Matt Jones (3-14) ripped out the middle of the Coast order. The hosts finished with 73/9 from their 16 overs. In reply, Ben Beecroft led the Pirates to victory in the 11th over with an unbeaten 46 off 39 balls. 

East Coast Bays 116/5 (R Schierhout 57, M Ross 34) lost to North Shore 120/7 (Am. Dhadwal 37*, R Mudford 30) by three wickets – match reduced to 16 overs.

North Shore triumphed late on in a thriller with East Coast Bays at Devonport Domain. Batting first, Bays were in a spot of bother at 7/2 at the end of the fourth over. Ryan Schierhout (57) and Michael Ross (34) then gave East Coast Bays 116/5 to defend in the 16-over match. Shore raced out of the blocks through Riley Mudford (30), only to slip to 93/7 with 14 balls left in the chase. Amit Dhadwal (37*) improvised to hit a pair of sixes in the final two overs and, with Sam Hinds, took Shore to victory and the semifinals with three balls to spare.

Waitakere 134/7 (A Kaundal 49) lost to Birkenhead 137/4 (P Nuwan 68) by six wickets.

Birkenhead did what they needed to do against Waitakere, picking up a fifth T20 win of the summer. Waitakere’s Aman Kaundal again showed his power, top-scoring with 49 off 29 to lift his side to 134/7. For Birkenhead, Anuradha Jayampathi, Pramesh Fernando and Nishant Murlidharan all chimed in with two wickets apiece. It was a relatively simple chase for the hosts with opener Pubudu Nuwan blasting 68 off 42 balls. Victory came in the 15th over, but it wouldn’t be enough to lift their net run-rate above that of North Shore. 

Kumeu 58 (S Cook 3-9) lost to Suburbs New Lynn 61/1 by nine wickets.

Suburbs New Lynn finished on a high against Kumeu, recording their fourth straight win to close out their T20 campaign. Batting first, Kumeu were under pressure from the outset with Suburbs’ Sam Cook picking up 3-9, while Luke Devereaux (2-9) and Lee Clough (2-10) helped bowl the hosts out for 58. Kevin Gattu and Michael Barry made short work of the chase, sealing victory in the 6th over. 


Eden Roskill 96/8 (M Abbas 32, R Sandhu 5-21) lost to Grafton 98/4 (D Sharples 36*) by six wickets – match reduced to 18 overs.

Grafton signed of their T20 summer with a strong victory over Eden Roskill. Grafton kipper Raja Sandhu returned to Keith Hay Park to torment his former club, picking up 5-21 and resigning Roskill to a total of 96/8 from their 18 overs. Grafton made a nervy start to their chase before Daniel Sharples (36*) and Nikheil Bhana (23*) added an unbeaten 58 for the fifth wicket to seal a third Lions win in the T20 Championship.

Cornwall 67/5 tied with Parnell 67/7 – match reduced to eight overs

Cornwall booked their place in the semifinals after a dramatic tie with Parnell at Shore Road. There was little time to take a look with the match reduced to eight overs. Cornwall lost wickets throughout, but managed to push on to 67/5. Parnell’s reply went a similar way; needing 11 from the final over, Harry Miller (22*) hit a pair of boundaries to give Parnell the edge. Matt Gibson then conceded just two from the final three deliveries, including a run-out of the last to see the first tie of the 2021/22 competition. 

Howick Pakuranga 143/3 (A Morrison 54, B Walsh 34) defeated Ellerslie 111/6 (P Narsimhan 59*) by 32 runs.

Howick Pakuranga came out on top over Ellerslie at Michaels Ave. Skipper Andrew Morrison hit his fourth T20 fifty of the summer to lead his side to 143/3. Runs at the top by Bill Walsh (34) helped lay the platform for what was ultimately a winning total. Parikshith Narsimhan (59*) battled through the loss of his top-order partners, but his efforts wouldn’t be enough. Harmeet Singh (2-7) impressed for Howick Pakuranga, who kept Ellerslie to 111/6 from their 20 overs.

Auckland University 106/5 (C O’Brien 44, G Beghin 34) defeated Papatoetoe 69/8 (V Anand 3-12) by 37 runs – match reduced to 12 overs.

Auckland University booked a home semifinal with a commanding 37-run over Papatoetoe. With the match reduced to 12 overs, Christy O’Brien (44) and Graeme Beghin (34) played with freedom. For Papatoetoe, five bowlers picked up a wicket as the visitors put 106/5 on the board. O’Brien would cap his day with four catches behind the stumps, while Vijay Anand’s 3-12 went a long way to holding Papatoetoe to 69/8 from their 12 overs.