01 Jul, Friday

T20 Championship | 19 Jan

Club Cricket

T20 Championship | 19 Jan

Praneel HiraClub Cricket

Men’s Premier

T20 Championship | Round Four

East Coast Bays 154/6 (I Bird 72, C Briggs 38, D Ferns 4-28) lost to Takapuna 160/8 (Q Sunde 41, T van Ingen-Kal 36) by two wickets.

Takapuna made it three wins in a row after a narrow win over East Coast Bays at Onewa Domain. Bays built nicely on the back of Isaac Bird’s 72 off 40 balls, while Cole Briggs (38) played the supporting role. Danru Ferns four-for helped Takapuna win the death overs and keep Bays to 154/6. In reply, it took a collective Pirates effort and hitting throughout. While Quinn Sunde (41) and Tristan van Ingen-Kal (36) kept the hosts in it, the power of Fanie de Villiers (27 off 12) proved the difference.

Hibiscus Coast 120/7 (R Lakmal 47) lost to North Shore 125/3 (S Keene 33*, Ad. Dhadwal 32) by seven wickets.

North Shore made it four-from-four with a routine victory over Hibiscus Coast at Devonport Domain. Batting first, Hibiscus Coast lost regular wickets around Ramesh Lamkal (47). Shore trio Simon Keene, Tendai Chitongo and Ronnie Hira all picked up two wickets apiece to hold the visitors to 120/7. Shore were aggressive in reply, with Keene (33*) and Adithya Dhadwal (32) showing their ability to find the boundary. The Shore victory came in the 14th over. 

Birkenhead 125/6 (J O’Brien 42, C Rajapaksha 32) defeated Kumeu 118/6 by seven runs.

Birkenhead came out on top of a low-scoring battle against Kumeu at Huapai Domain. The Kumeu bowlers challenged James O’Brien (42) and Chamal Rajapaksha (32), but their contributions played a big part in the end result. Chasing 126, Kumeu were in reasonable shape at the halfway mark, but the innings fell away with Rajapaksha, Namisagar Raj and Anuradha Jayampathi all picking up two wickets to sneak home by seven runs.

Suburbs New Lynn 165/1 (S Martin 83*, M Barry 70*) defeated Waitakere 132/6 (B Barnard 49, S Mirza 41) by 33 runs.

Suburbs New Lynn put in a commanding performance against neighbours Waitakere at Ken Maunder Park. The dominance came at the top with Steve Martin (83*) and Michael Barry (70*) putting on an unbeaten 136 for the second wicket. With 165/1 on the board, Suburbs then picked up regular wickets to blow Waitakere’s required run-rate out. Brian Barnard (49) and Shozib Mirza (41) fought to give Waitakere a chance, but a committed Suburbs attack came out on top.

Cornwall 151/6 (J MacKinnon 56*, J Cassidy 43, D Sharples 4-25) defeated Grafton 84 (S Gunawardene 43*, M van den Berg 4-18) by 67 runs.

Runs at the top helped Cornwall breeze past Grafton at Cornwall Park. Josh MacKinnon (56*) batted through the Cornwall inning, while Jack Cassidy (43) gave the innings some impetus. Though Daniel Sharples continued his fine start to the season with 4-25, Cornwall finished with 151/6. Sineth Gunawardene (43) played a lone hand in Grafton’s faltering chase. The pressure exerted by Michael van den Berg (4-18), among others, was too much for Grafton to mount any real challenge. 

Eden Roskill 131 (S Desai 38) lost to Parnell 132/2 (R Clinton 68, J Parsons 43*) by eight wickets.

Parnell were confident victors over Eden Roskill at Shore Road. Batting first, Eden Roskill were in a strong position to push the Peaches. At 50/1, the visitors had won the powerplay. Parnell then hit back to bowl Roskill out for 131. Ruben Clinton was in no mood to muck around, hitting 68 off 32, including 12 fours and a six to set Parnell on their way. Fellow opener Jack Parson (43*) was far more sedate, but on hand to see the Peaches to a fourth T20 win of the campaign.

Auckland University 149/2 (G Beghin 83*, J Low 30*) defeated Howick Pakuranga 147/5 (A Morrison 71*, J Patel 3-19) by two runs.

Auckland University triumphed over Howick Pakuranga in the game of the round. Batting first, University posted 149/2 on the back of a dynamic knock by Graeme Beghin. The University No.3 hit an unbeaten 83 off 52 balls and was well-supported by Jonathan Low (30*). It was a familiar story for Howick Pakuranga; in trouble early and in need of something special from captain Andrew Morrison. While the skipper powered on to 71*, University kept his partners quiet to secure a crucial two-run win.

Papatoetoe 137/6 (S Setia 39) lost Ellerslie 139/2 (J Allan 59*, D Kharel 30) by eight wickets.

Ellerslie put on a strong showing at home against Papatoetoe to pick up their first T20 win of the summer. Shane Setia (39) led a series of starts at the top to get Papatoetoe moving; the middle-order, however, were unable to push on with the momentum as Ellerslie fought back after the powerplay. Chasing 138, Josh Allan took the responsibility of seeing his side home with an unbeaten 59 off 53 balls. Allan wasn’t without support with Parikshith Narsimhan (26) and Dinesh Kharel (30*) chipping in to seal victory in the 19th over.