13 Aug, Saturday

T20 Championship | 12 Jan

Club Cricket

T20 Championship | 12 Jan

Praneel HiraClub Cricket

The T20 Championship started with a bang last night! Rounds Two and Three take place on Sunday.

Takapuna 184/4 (F de Villiers 64*, Q Sunde 62*) lost to North Shore 186/4 (R Mudford 46, S Keene 40, M Olsen 39*, A Dhadwal 32) by six wickets.

A high-scoring clash at Onewa Domain went the way of visitors North Shore, who raced to a six-wicket win over Takapuna.

Quinn Sunde (62*) and Fanie de Villiers (62*) played strong hands to oversee Takapuna’s recovery from 33/3. The pair put on an unbeaten 92 to lift the Pirates to 186/4 from their 20 overs. 

If the Pirates finish was powerful, the North Shore opening all but killed off the game. Taking 71 from the first three overs, Aditya Dhadwal (32) and Riley Mudford (46) crunched 6 fours and 7 sixes from the first 18 balls. There was no coming back from there.

East Coast Bays 174/5 (R Schierhout 51, M Ross 40, I Bird 35, P Hitchcock 3-26) defeated Hibiscus Coast 109 (BJ Jacobs 49, C Groenink 3-26) by 65 runs.

East Coast Bays started their T20 campaign with a confident win over Hibiscus Coast.

The runs also flowed at Windsor Park, with Bays posting 174/5 on the back of a fast fifty by skipper Ryan Schierhout, who hit 51 off 29 balls. The supporting knocks came from Michael Ross (40) and Isaac Bird (35), while Paul Hitchcock (3-26) rolled back the years to lead the Coast attack.

In reply, Bevon-John Jacobs played a lone hand falling one short of a half-century against his former club. Bays new-ball duo of Chris Groenink and Louis Delport delivered tidy sets of four overs. The wickets fell Groenink’s way, picking up 3-26, while Delport had a pair of maidens to his name.

Waitakere 184/4 (J Henderson 63*) defeated Kumeu 114/9 (A Christian 43) by 70 runs.

Waitakere piled on the highest total of the opening day of T20 Championship action to breeze past western neighbours Kumeu.

Batting first, the Waitakere openers set the foundation, taking what was on offer through the powerplay. The innings of note came from No. 4 Jack Henderson, who hit 7 fours and 2 sixes on his way to an unbeaten 63 off 36 balls.

Chasing 185, Kumeu had to go from the start, but Waitakere’s Kavi Minhas (2-15) removed both openers, taking wickets in the first and third overs. Akash Christian (43) continued his strong start to the season, though his effort alone was never going to be enough for the hosts. 

Suburbs New Lynn 94/8 (C Rajapaksha 4-19) lost to Birkenhead 95/7 (C Brungar 3-18) by three wickets.

Not all tight matches are high-scoring; Birkenhead and Suburbs New Lynn proved that at Birkenhead War Memorial.

Suburbs New Lynn were in early trouble batting first. The recovery never came with Chamal Rajapaksha picking up 4-19 to stifle any chance of a partnership through the middle. Nathan Fletcher’s run-a-ball 29 gave the visitors a total of 95 to defend.

The Birkenhead chase was a bumpy ride. Though Suburbs’ Carl Brungar (3-18) struck throughout, Nishant Murlidharan (29) and Prashanth Patel did enough to walk away with a three-wicket win. 

Parnell 141/5 (R Clinton 39, F McGregor-Sumpter 39) defeated Grafton 98 (S Gunawardene 40, N Perera 3-9, A Parikh 3-18) by 43 runs.

Parnell put in a committed team performance to take home the central-city derby over Grafton at Victoria Park.

After Grafton came hard early, fighting knocks by Ruben Clinton and Flynn McGregor-Sumpter, who both scored 39, helped Parnell put up a competitive total. Regular wickets kept Grafton in the game with the visitors putting 141/5 on the board.

The only real fight with the bat for Grafton came from Sineth Gunawardene (40) before the Parnell spinners took over. Nikith Perera and Aniket Parikh combined for six wickets through the middle as Grafton were bowled out for 98.

Cornwall 156/7 (J Cassidy 53, J Hayes 38) defeated Eden Roskill 87/8 (A Bhardwaj 42) by 69 runs.

Cornwall started the T20 Championship with an excellent win over Eden Roskill at Cornwall Park.

The hosts had Jack Cassidy (53) and Jamie Hayes (38) to thank for putting up a total, after a challenging first ten overs. The pair put on 58 for the fourth wicket to set up the death overs for the incoming batters. Umang Patel (2-19) impressed with the ball once again for Roskill. 

Chasing 157, the visitors were on the ropes early and often. At 29/5 at the end of the fifth over, Cornwall had the game in control. Michael van den Berg finished with immaculate figures of 3-5 from his four overs as Cornwall took victory by 69 runs.

Howick Pakuranga 174/8 (A Morrison 66, D Young 30, P Rehal 4-17) defeated Papatoetoe 148/8 (S Money 36*, R Khurana 35, S Borland 3-25) by 26 runs.

Howick Pakuranga continued their surging start to 2022 with a comprehensive win over Papatoetoe.

The Alpacas wasted little time in setting the tone with Bill Walsh and Daniel Young racing out of the blocks. The key knock for Howick Pakuranga came from Andrew Morrison, who hit 66 off 36 balls, while Papatoetoe’ Prabhjot Rehal took an impressive 4-17 from his four overs. 

The death overs belonged to Papatoetoe, but the hosts couldn’t carry that momentum into their batting innings. Ross Khurana’s quickfire 32 provided some sparkle at the top of the order, and later Stephen Money added 36*, but Papatoetoe would ultimately finish 26 runs shy of victory.

Ellerslie 105/8 lost to Auckland University 106/6 (V Anand 43) by six wickets.

At Colin Maiden Park, Auckland University started their T20 Championship campaign with a win over Ellerslie to remain perfect on the season.

A series of starts didn’t flourish into anything more for Ellerslie, as six of the top seven made double figures, but no batter passed 20. Seven bowlers were employed for University, who applied pressure throughout to hold Ellerslie to 105/8.

While University lost six wickets, it was a relatively comfortable chase after Vijay Anand scored 43 off 31 balls. Wickets to Joseph Wilkinson (2-13) and Dinesh Kharel (2-25) kept new University players coming to the crease, only for the winning runs to come in the 16th over.