Super 8s tournament a success

Takapuna District Cricket Club’s Primary Schools Cricket Tournament

SUPER 8s CRICKET TOURNAMENT 2018 – 28th February -1st March

The Takapuna DCC annual Super 8’s tournament was held last week with forty teams from local Primary Schools taking part in the four different leagues. The teams from Campbells Bay Primary dominated the tournament by entering three finals and winning the elite Champions League for the Y5/6 teams. All games were played at Onewa.

The Champions League (for boys) Y5/6, Tues 28th Feb on Onewa Domain # 1

In the Champions League final Campbells Bay – Red beat Northcote Primary – Green by 14 runs to win to win the top title.

Photo: Action shot from the Champions League final – Campbells Bay – Red vs Northcote Primary – Green in front of 300 plus spectators.

Campbells Bay-Red team: Mikey Gambitsis, Lachlan Hutton, Ben Davidson , Sam King, Ben Brown, Ryan Knight, Oliver Smithson , Cade Gillies, Toby Worrall

The Debbie Hockley League (for girls), Wed 28th Feb on Onewa Domain # 2

Northcote Primary- Green beat Murrays Bay to win the Debbie Hockley League.

Northcote -Green team: Sasha Warren, Lily Fotu, Aaliyah Patel, Frankie Davison (at back), Lisa Gear, Roxy Murphy, Ruby Bell, Lily Johnson with Coach Tony Johnson


The Brendon McCullum League (boys), Wed 1st March on Onewa Domain # 1

Mirangi Bay scored 60 runs in their innings and restricted Campbells Bay Yellow in the final to win the Brendon McCullum League.

Mirangi Bay team: Ethan Swanepoel, Oliver Lowe, Ben Chapman, Devon Conn, Samuel Gibson, Max Mitchell, Eli Taylor, Isaiah Taylor, James Pinder with Sports Coordinator Ryan McWilliam and Coach/umpire Douglas Mitchell

The Richard Hadlee League (mixed), Wed 1st March on Onewa Domain # 2

St John’s team: Harrison Bage, Sean Billings, Shaun Perera, Karney Prendergast, Oscar Reade, Connor Sievwright, Cameron Simpson, Xavier Smith and Callum Smytheman with Manager Sara Prendergast and Coach Fletcher Prendergast

“Hi Amita, I would like to thank you for putting this wonderful cricket tournament on. As a school that has not participated in this day before our team really enjoyed it, it was very well run and organized. As it was our first year involved we will definitely be back next year with hopefully more teams.” Thanks, Ryan ( Mairangi Bay Sports Co )

“Thanks Amita, and thank you for another great tournament. The kids loved it.” -Sara Prendergast

Thanks to Northcote College, Campbells Bay College, Murrays Bay College for providing umpires. We acknowladge the support from Kate Hazeldine (Northcote College), Keri Maunder (Campbells Bay Primary), Tony Johnson (SKY TV) and Auckland Cricket Association for their assistance in getting the umpires organised.

Super 8’s tournament is organised and directed by Amita Weerakoon – DOC TDCC

TDCC Super 8’s tournament is proudly supported by NZ Communities Trust