26 Jun, Sunday

Suburbs take out Hedley Howarth Trophy

Club Cricket

Suburbs take out Hedley Howarth Trophy

Vanilla BriefClub Cricket


Hedley Howarth Trophy – Premier Grade Two Day Competition

Championship Round 5 – 21/03/09 & 28/03/09

Major Championship

North Shore v Fox’s Alehouse Suburbs New Lynn – Devonport Domain 1
Suburbs New Lynn is the Hedley Howarth Trophy winner for 2008/09 after an exhilarating finish to the season. Although they were probably the favourite heading into the last day, nobody could have predicted what was to unfold not only at Devonport Domain, but also across Auckland at Lloyd Elsmore Park where it was possible that one of the two sides there could have still won the championship. Fast bowler Jimmy Neesham took 6/45 to help dismiss North Shore for 213, which gave first innings points to Suburbs New Lynn. At this time, the teams found out that an outright victory was possible at Lloyd Elsmore and therefore Suburbs New Lynn needed bonus points to boost their tally. They declared their second innings closed at 25/1, leaving the North Shore batsmen 13 overs to score 113 – but from Suburbs New Lyn’s point of view, it was 13 overs to take as many wickets as possible. In the end, North Shore needed 10 runs off the final over and managed to get there, leaving Suburbs New Lynn with an anxious wait to find out whether or not they would win the championship. The result from Lloyd Elsmore went their way, to hand Suburbs New Lynn their first championship in 24 years.

Suburbs New Lynn 300/8 declared (Jeet Raval 71, Jimmy Neesham 64, Michael Bates 38, Tim Regan 35*, Ben Stewart 3/66) & 25/1 declared lost to North Shore 213 (Reuben Rivers-Smith 49, Craig McGuigan 38, Jimmy Neesham 6/45) & 113/7 (James Nolen 4/15) outright by three wickets.

Cock n Bull University Ellerslie v Cornwall – Colin Maiden Park E
Cornwall headed into day two with a slim mathematical chance of winning the championship, but Konrad Kurta’s three wickets quickly diminished these prospects. Cornwall declared at 143/7 to try and force an outright result, and University Ellerslie followed suit with a declaration at 90/5. For Cornwall, Fraser Diver took 5/41. An unbeaten half century from Sam Anderson then helped Cornwall to their target with five wickets in hand.

University Ellerslie 234 (Thareeb Mohammed 49, James Cowell 44, Warrick Hart 39, James Boyle 33) & 90/5 declared (Shaun Smith 43, Fraser Diver 5/41) lost to Cornwall 143/7 declared (Konrad Kurta 3/44) & 184/5 (Sam Anderson 53*, Craig Pryor 49, Guy Coleman 32) outright by five wickets.

Howick Pakuranga v EDL Fasteners Papatoetoe – Lloyd Elsmore Park 1
An outright victory here (including first innings points) could have propelled either Howick Pakuranga or Papatoetoe right into contention for the championship. Heading into day two, Howick Pakuranga looked the more likely of the two teams as Papatoetoe was 145 runs in arrears and four wickets down. However, Papatoetoe had other ideas and they managed to claim first innings points, thanks largely to Bhupinder Singh’s unbeaten 72. This ended Howick Pakuranga’s chances, but Papatoetoe declared immediately knowing that an outright victory could still win it for them. A great bowling performance was still required, and Bhupinder Singh (4/21) and Travis Brooke (3/14) provided this to bowl Howick Pakuranga out for 124, leaving Papatoetoe 122 runs to win in 17 overs. Papatoetoe started off well, but then Greg Morgan put in one of the performances of the season in taking 6/33 – this included four wickets in four balls. At the other end, veteran Kerry Walmsley took three wickets as Papatoetoe were bowled out for 80 and the defence of their title was over.

Howick Pakuranga 234/8 declared (Greg Morgan 66*, Luke Vivian 44, Gareth Shaw 3/53, Ish Sodhi 3/70) & 124 (Jamie Newth 41, Bhupinder Singh 4/21, Travis Brooke 3/14) defeated Papatoetoe 237/7 declared (Bhupinder Singh 72*, Gareth Shaw 44, Nick Appleby 34*, Andrew Brookland 30, Kerry Walmsley 5/71) & 80 (Greg Morgan 6/33, Kerry Walmsley 3/12) outright by 41 runs.

Minor Championship

Waitakere City v East Coast Bays – Te Atatu Park 1
The battle for the Minor Championship was also well and truly alive heading into day two of the final round, and it was East Coast Bays who ended the season on top. After being dismissed for 317, East Coast Bays knew that first innings points would go a long way to securing the title. James McCully (4/32) and Darren Brown (3/40) duly obliged with Waitakere City all out for 234. East Coast Bays batted out the rest of the overs to finish at 87/6, and with the chances of an outright result in the Parnell v Grafton United match close to zero, the Minor Championship went to East Coast Bays.

East Coast Bays 317 (Shaun McCann 84, Matt Mimmack 76, Ray Vincent 52, James McCully 39, Puni Hira 5/55) & 87/6 defeated Waitakere City 234 (James Fuller 47, Keeley Todd 39, Dusan Hakaraia 35, James McCully 4/32, Darren Brown 3/40) on first innings.

Quay Law Parnell v Grafton United – Shore Rd 1
Parnell’s first innings total of 333/7 declared had all but ended Grafton United’s bid for the Minor Championship, but first innings points followed by an outright victory for Parnell could have won them the title. Unfortunately for Parnell, Grafton United produced one of the best displays of batting in the season and killed off Parnell’s hopes in the process. Michael Horne (191) and Tony Manning (127) scored freely, and the pair put on a mammoth 242 for the third wicket which is an all time record partnership for Grafton United for any wicket. Grafton United managed to score at a fantastic rate for the whole innings and ended the day on 467/8.

Parnell 333/7 (Justin Rosenberg 96, Doug Winger 81, Ryan Turner 44) lost to Grafton United 467/8 (Michael Horne 191, Tony Manning 127, Nigel Collins 57) on first innings.

Takapuna v Eden Roskill – Onewa Domain 1
Both teams had a lot to play for on day two of this match as the winner of the wooden spoon would be found from these two teams. Eden Roskill had 325 runs in the bank, but Takapuna knew that first innings points would be enough to ensure they did not finish bottom. Half centuries from Mark Hitchcock and Greg Johnson provided good impetus for Takapuna, and Paul Hitchcock (47) and Allan Plant (30) also chipped in with valuable contributions. However it was the last wicket pair who saw Takapuna home and consigned Eden Roskill to bottom of the ladder.

Eden Roskill 325/6 declared (Dipesh Bhana 106*, Azhar Abbas 80, Anand Mitha 53) lost to Takapuna 326/9 (Mark Hitchcock 78, Greg Johnson 55, Paul Hitchcock 47, Allan Plant 30, Azhar Abbas 3/96) on first innings.

Final Points

Major Championship
Suburbs New Lynn                   54.29
Papatoetoe                               50.09
North Shore                             47.13
Howick Pakuranga                   44.92
Cornwall                                  42.90
University Ellerslie                   34.48

Minor Championship
East Coast Bays                       50.48
Grafton United                        46.68
Parnell                                     41.97
Waitakere City                         40.99
Takapuna                                36.02
Eden Roskill                            26.93