26 Jun, Sunday

Suburbs New Lynn Reserves take victory

Club Cricket

Suburbs New Lynn Reserves take victory

Praneel HiraClub Cricket

It was a sweet moment for Suburbs New Lynn in the Premier Reserve Major Championship final yesterday, as they took the victory they missed out on last year against Eden Roskill.

The home team won the toss and opted to bowl at Ken Maunder Park.

Suburbs clearly had a plan, and executed it well. Luke Devereaux dismissed Eden Roskill opening batsman – and the Championship’s top run-scorer – Syed Mujtaba for just two.

Eden Roskill crept slowly through to drinks, reaching 17 overs at 48/3.

Immediately after resuming play, everything went wrong for Eden Roskill. Eli Meenhorst dismissed Aman Bhardwaj; next over a sharp catch in front of square off Sineth Gunawardane took care of Vikrant Sirohi. Suburbs could smell blood in the water.

At 57/6 Eden Roskill needed to somehow rebuild. Instead, the batsmen took a chance on Sean Playle’s arm as the ball raced towards third man. A hard, flat throw to wicketkeeper James Simmons, and Roskill was seven down.

To add to the injury the sole surviving member of the top order, Arpit Batra, was stumped for 20 next over off James Nolen.

It was an impressive collapse. Eden Roskill lost five wickets in six overs for just 10 runs.

The Eden Roskill tail was left with the fightback to get the team to a respectable score. Number 10 Munsarim Ahmed and number 11 Parveen Kumar battled through 13 overs; they put on 32 runs, taking Roskill over 100, and to the 40th over. Eventually Kumar looped up a ball from Meenhorst to Playle, and Eden Roskill’s innings finished at 106.

The only way Roskill could win was to take wickets. They would have thus felt pretty pleased when Suburbs opener Shiran Chathuranga went down the wicket to Ahmed, missed, and was bowled in the third over.

However, Suburbs had absolutely no need to take risks chasing the total. Opening batsman BJ Jacobs guided the chase with a steady hand, finishing on 62 not out. Suburbs cruised to an eight-wicket victory in 30 overs.

Eden Roskill 106 (M Ahmed 29; J Nolen 2-15, E Meenhorst 2-18) lost to Suburbs New Lynn 108/2 (BJ Jacobs 62*, G Hanham 19*) by eight wickets.

In the Minor Championship final, Howick Pakuranga scored 173 before bowling out Takapuna for 138 to take a 35 run win at Lloyd Elsmore Park.