26 Jun, Sunday

Review - Men's Premier Champions for 2015/16

Club Cricket

Review – Men’s Premier Champions for 2015/16

Iain LaxonClub Cricket

Take a look back at our match reports from the final rounds and finals of our Men’s Premier competitions in season 2015/16. 

Hedley Howarth Trophy

Parnell v Takapuna

Takapuna continued their strong start to the final round as they completed a first innings and then outright victory to pip defending champions Parnell in the Hedley Howarth. Takapuna set up their victory with a big effort on the first day of their encounter with Parnell as they restricted the strong batting side to just 167. They had made good strides into that total on the first day which meant entering the final day they only had a small number of runs to wrap in order to secure vital first innings points. A range of contributions from their deep batting line up was able to get them there.

Takapuna’s contributions came from players that have offered them consistent runs through the season. Ter Braak, Harley, Van Vuuren and O’Donnell all offering useful starts to the Takapuna total as they have done throughout the season. Another solid effort with bat and ball was then able to set up an outright victory to take the Hedley Howarth with style.

Parnell 167 (Jesse Simpson 60; Elliott Herd 4/78) and 150/6 (Will St John 34, Tom Hills 32*) defeated by Takapuna 214 (Daniel Ter Braak 48, Guy Harley 42, Hendrik Van Vuuren 33*, William O’Donnell 32; Mark Chapman 4/26) and 105/5 (Max O’Dowd 38)

Tom Hellaby Trophy

Eden Roskill v Howick Pakuranga

A strong captain’s knock from Bill Walsh gave Howick Pakuranga the first innings points they needed to keep a fast finishing North Shore away from the title. Howick Pakuranga built their promotion around a tremendously strong finish to the season. As Shore suffered a stumble towards the end of the season Howick only got better as they stacked up performance after performance in the back half of the season. Skipper Bill Walsh saying before the last round that the range of players to make contributions had been one of the most satisfying aspects of the campaign. The captain had enjoyed his own run of fine form to end the season. The promotion particularly pleasing for Howick Pak as it means they have bounced right back from a demotion.

Eden Roskill 203 (Sam Curran 44, Shaneil Sharma 41; Paddy Cairns 3/30, Niranjan Nagulesawaran 3/36) played Howick Pakuranga 288/7 (Bill Walsh 94, Niranjan Nagulesawaran 88; Bhavik Vora 4/35)

Take a listen to Howick Pakuranga skipper Bill Walsh previewing the final round of the season below.

Jeff Crowe Cup

Suburbs New Lynn v Cornwall

An impressive display with the bat led by a hundred from Luke Dudman has helped Suburbs New Lynn to victory in the Jeff Crowe Cup final.

Suburbs had originally been set 288 for victory but a heavy shower and delay saw the target adjusted to 233 in 35 overs. A solid base had been laid for the chase by Reece Young who made 40. However the winning of the match came from a partnership between Luke Dudman and Michael Barry who put on just over a hundred together. The duo was able to maintain a sharp scoring rate to keep in touch with the required rate. Cornwall however thought they may have been in with a chance when they were able to get both set players out, Dudman for 100 and Barry for 38. Suburbs could’ve stumbled their but the young duo of Sean Solia and Mitch Murray were able to calmly take their side to victory with quick runs.

Earlier Cornwall would’ve felt they put up a highly competitive total thanks to a quick fire hundred from Michael Guptill-Bunce. The Cornwall skipper leading the way for his side with 111 of just 69 balls. The Mondiale Ace enjoying the conditions as he hit eight fours and belted nine sixes. Cornwall were also helped to the positive total by Shastryn Nair who made 68 and Jack Cassidy who notched 34. Michael Barry was the pick of the Suburbs bowlers as the skipper was able to snare five wickets. Suburbs also fielded well as they were able create three run outs.

Cornwall 287 (Michael Guptill-Bunce 111, Shastryn Nair 68, Jack Cassidy 34; Michael Barry 5/48) defeated by Suburbs New Lynn 235/5 (Luke Dudman 100, Reece Young 40, Michael Barry 38) by 5 wickets.

Suburbs New Lynn skipper Michael Barry on the Jeff Crowe Cup victory.

Premier T20 Championship

North Shore v Takapuna

North Shore have won a thrilling Men’s T20 Final against Shore rivals Takapuna at Onewa Domain.

Rain, fading light and a very competitive Takapuna side all couldn’t come in the way of North Shore on their way to the victory. Batting first Shore were able to put on a solid total of 162/5. Similar to their form during the regular season no one player in the order stood out but enough made contributions that they were able to move through to a defendable position. All of the top order were able to get some sort of start. Aakash Choudhary providing flourish through the middle and late overs with 34. While Takapuna were able to take regular wickets they weren’t able to really stifle Shore’s momentum. Takapuna’s bowlers had a mixed day with the ball, but Ryan Scivier lead the way for his side as he took 2/15 off his overs going at just under 4 runs an over.

In response Takapuna’s chase could be summed up by their first over. North Shore had Brad Cachopa’s wicket with just three balls gone. Despite a boundary also coming from the over a familiar pattern then developed where while Takapuna was scoring they simply kept losing wickets and were falling short of the required pace. A useful partnership between the impressive Will O’Donnell and Ryan Scivier started to show promise, but just as the veteran and the youngster looked to get going Scivier was caught for 24. O’Donnell went onto record the highest score in the match with 57 but it simply wasn’t enough.

There was late hope sparked by Elliot Herd who once again showed his use with the bat for Takapuna with 29 including a mammoth straight six just when it looked like Taka was slipping too far behind the required rate. But in a familiar story Herd just couldn’t hang on as wickets tumbled at the close. Carl Brungar and Graeme Beghin impressing with three wickets each for North Shore in the innings.

North Shore 162/5 (Aakash Choudhary 34) defeated Takapuna 152/9 (William O’Donnell 57; Graeme Beghin 3/25, Carl Brungar 3/32) by 10 runs.

North Shore’s leader Michael Olsen on his side’s title winning performance.