Premier Cricket Short Report – 5 January

With T20 semi-final spots on the line, there was little room for error when club cricket returned after a brief Christmas break. The sun again played its part for Saturday’s doubleheader that would complete pool play.

The stakes were high at Devonport Domain. Hosts North Shore and Suburbs New Lynn lined up for a must-win clash and there was certainly a quarter-final feeling in the air.

Suburbs won the toss and elected to field. Luke Devereaux went past the outside edge four times in delivering the match’s first maiden. Graeme Beghin and Stephen Baard fought through some early nibble to put North Shore back on track.

Beghin had changed the momentum of the game. When he picked out long-on, Mitchell Murray and Dane Watson slowed the scoring. The pair would take a combined 5-32 off eight overs strangling North Shore’s middle order. A late Carl Brungar six lifted North Shore to 109/7.

Gus McKenzie built early pressure and Suburbs were struggling at 29/3 in the seventh over. The visitors tumbled to 46/5 before Jonny Bassett-Graham added some impetus to the innings. With overs running out, and the run-rate blowing out above ten an over, Suburbs needed a hero.

Murray, who had also taken three cheap wickets, stepped up in the penultimate over. He hit three consecutive sixes – deep over long-on, a reverse-sweep and a slog-sweep over backward square – to relieve the pressure and put Suburbs on the brink of victory. Murray hit one final four to loud cheers as Suburbs all but booked their spot in the semi-finals with an over to spare.

Men’s T20 Championship

Round Six
Pool One:

North Shore 109/7 (S Baard 31, G Beghin 26; M Murray 3-15, D Watson 3-17) lost to Suburbs New Lynn 110/7 (M Murray 32*, J Bassett-Graham 21; G McKenzie 2-12, M Strain 2-39) by three wickets.

Hibiscus Coast 163/5 (R Lakmal 67, B Aveyard 28; M A Khan 2-16) lost to Kumeu 167/3 (M Shifaz 58, E Sayed 52; R Lakmal 2-39) by seven wickets.

Waitakere 145/5 (N Fletcher 71, J Challis 22; L Delport 2-23, R Schierhout 2-37) defeated East Coast Bays 116 (L Delport 48; A Simpson 3-13, B Robinson 3-17) by 29 runs.

Takapuna 162/2 (H van Vuuren 91*, M O’Dowd 39; J Horton 1-24) defeated Birkenhead 135/7 (A Christian 54, U Ghani 34*) by 27 runs.

Pool Two:

Parnell 121 (B Horne 44, B Rae 20; J Low 4-17, N Stobart 2-14) defeated Auckland University 38 (J Ellis 11; A Parikh 5-9, G Ratnasabapathy 2-5, K Russell 2-11) by 83 runs.

Grafton 143/6 (P Patel 57, M Ruffell 41; D Patel 3-19, R Higgins 3-29) tied with Ellerslie 143/4 (V Khanna 46, A Maasch 32; D Taylor 3-15).

Cornwall 160/5 (Amit Dhadwal 47, T Nidamanuru 40; R Botadra 1-15) defeated Howick Pakuranga 131/8 (M McEwan 47, D Grobbelaar 27; A Rajijumar 3-15, T Nidamanuru 3-20) by 29 runs.

Eden Roskill defeated Papatoetoe.*

Round 7
Pool One:

Kumeu 53 (MA Khan 12; T Chitongo 3-4, G Mackenzie 3-8) lost to North Shore 55/1 (S Baard 26*, G Beghin 12*) by nine wickets.

Waitakere 129/7 (T Ngatai 73, J Venkatrao 20; M Jones 3-22, J Sussex 2-20) lost to Takapuna 133/2 (M O’Dowd 66*, W O’Donnell 39*; A Simpson 1-14) by eight wickets.

Birkenhead 95 (T Treadaway 30, J Houghton 16; L Delport 4-13, J Quensell 2-7) lost to East Coast Bays 98/3 (M Ross 31*, S Langridge 28; T Treadaway 1-13) by seven wickets

Suburbs New Lynn 179/3 (J Parslow 73, M Barry 45*, R Majithia 37) defeated Hibiscus Coast 107/8 (J Barron 33*; E Meenhorst 2-6, D Watson 2-22, M Murray 2-22) by 72 runs.

Pool Two:

Eden Roskill 122/9 (S Desai 24, S Sharma 20; V Khanna 3-27, A Sreenivasan 2-17) lost to Ellerslie 123/4 (R Higgins 52, M Wall 35*; A Bhardwaj 1-18) by six wickets.

Grafton 145/5 (A Edwards 86*; J Plummer 2-29, S Birla 1-9) lost to Papatoetoe 146/2 (N Aujla 63* J Dunford 38; D Marsh 1-21) by eight wickets.

Parnell 125/7 (B Rodden 27, O Pringle 20; K Mackenzie 2-27, D Grobbelaar 1-2) lost to Howick Pakuranga 130/1 (G Phillips 68* M McEwan 49) by nine wickets.

Auckland University 122/4 (C Lowen 60, V Anand 31; B Naylor 1-2, M Gibson 1-8) lost to Cornwall 124/2 (T Nidamanuru 70*, Amit Dhadwal 37; J Low 2-29) by eight wickets.

*At the time of publication, full results not available.