Premier Cricket Short Report - 19 January

Club Cricket

Premier Cricket Short Report – 19 January

Praneel HiraClub Cricket

White Ferns and Hearts returned to club cricket at Te Atatu Park where all six teams lined up for T20 double-header action. Meanwhile, in the race for Jeff Crowe Cup play-off spots, batsmen came to the fore with six hundreds scored as the runs flowed freely for the first time since the Christmas break.

Pearl Dawson Trophy

Takapuna and Cornwall featured in the game of the round and it went down to the wire. Takapuna won the toss and elected to bowl first. Cornwall were in immediate trouble on a slow surface. Saachi Shahri and Katie Perkins found the pace to their liking putting together a 68-run third-wicket partnership. Takapuna’s spinners went wicketless, but kept the big-hitting in check.

In a strange finish, Cornwall lost three wickets in the last two legitimate deliveries – a run-out off a wide was bookended by catches in the outfield. At 125/6, both sides were in the game.

Takapuna’s chase was underpinned by a brilliant opening partnership between Lauren Down and Maddy Probert. The pair put on 65, before Probert was bowled by Khushboo Patel. Maddy Green grabbed a second and Cornwall pulled the right reins to peg back Takapuna’s run-rate.

Needing 48 off 36, Takapuna needed some lusty hitting. While Down was at the crease, eight an over wasn’t entirely out of the question. By now, Down had been joined by Anlo van Deventer. When the pressure came on, the pair released it with well-placed boundaries. Quick running also whittled away Cornwall’s advantage. On 49, Down picked out long-on, but not before hitting crucial back-to-back boundaries. With four needed from five deliveries, van Deventer went big over wide long-on to get her side home.

Round 5

Cornwall 124/6 (S. Shahri 47, K. Perkins 47; A. Kelly 2-21) lost to Takapuna 128/4 (L. Down 49, M. Probert 31, A. van Deventer 28*) by 6 wickets.

Papatoetoe 100/7 (L. Mulivai 23; S. Brate 2-25) defeated Parnell 62/5 (I. Mills 21*; F. Vaelua 2-16) by 38 runs.

Howick Pakuranga 75/6 (A. Peterson 4-12) lost to Unitak 75/1 (A. Peterson 41*) Waitakere by 9 wickets.

Round 6

Papatoetoe 108/4 (R. Lilii 38; A. Peterson 2-15) lost to Unitak 109/3 (Peterson 30, K. Anderson 29, S. Curtis 26) by 7 wickets.

Parnell 80/5 (Y. Kareem 22; A. Kelly 2-11, S. Bultitude 2-14) lost to Takapuna 81/1 (L. Down 33*, A. Kelly 28*) by 9 wickets.

Howick Pakuranga 88/9 (R. Patel 41; K. Patel 2-17) lost to Cornwall 89/1 (S. Shahri 41*) by 9 wickets.

Jeff Crowe Cup

Round 6

Grafton 207 (P.Patel 35, M. Snedden 35, S. Variath 31; A. Jones 4-32, D. Ferns 3-52) lost to Howick Pakuranga 208/3 (B. Barnard 88*, A. Morrison 86) by 7 wickets.

Eden Roskill 238/7 (O. Chakraborty 100*, H. Johal 32*; T. Treadaway 2-41) defeated Birkenhead 118 (A. Jayasinghe 51; B. Vora 4-17) by 120 runs.

North Shore 254/7 (G. Beghin 125; L. Delport 3-46) defeated East Coast Bays 188 (K. Seedall 61, C. Briggs 45; G.McKenzie 4-39) by 66 runs.

Waitakere 206/7 (J. Challis 71, N. Fletcher 59; M. Murray 3-44) lost to Suburbs New Lynn 207/1 (J. Raval 110*, S. Solia 52*) by 9 wickets.

Auckland University 278/2 (B. Beecroft 102*, F. Allen 75, V. Anand 52, C. Lowen 31*) defeated Parnell 252 (B. Horne 80, A. Lane 33, B. Rodden 33; V. Anand 3-38) by 26 runs.

Ellerslie 224 (R. Higgins 114; L. Dasent 3-17, T. Nidamanuru 3-20) lost to Cornwall 225/8 (Ad. Dhadwal 47, J. MacKinnon 36, F. de Villiers 33*; A. Burton 3-47) by 2 wickets.

Takapuna 276/9 (D. James 48*, S. Setia 46, L. Buxton 36, M. O’Dowd 34; N. Aujla 3-48) defeated Papatoetoe 271 (L. Clark 129, N. Aujla 53, W. O’Donnell 3-46) by five runs.