01 Jul, Friday

Honda Financial Premiership Report | 19 December

Club Cricket

Honda Financial Premiership Report | 19 December

Praneel HiraClub Cricket

Premier Men
T20 Championship

Suburbs New Lynn vs. Waitakere – Ken Maunder Park

Carl Brungar’s inspired opening burst gave Suburbs the perfect start at the seamer grabbed three wickets from his first ten deliveries. Jared Challis fought to drag Waitakere back in the contest, but Suburbs bowlers very little away. In the end, Waitakere mustered 105/8 on the back of Challis’ unbeaten 62.

Suburbs effort with the bat was equally as impressive with Raj Majithia (59*) and Kevin Gattu putting on 68 for the first wicket. Majithia did the bulk of the work hitting 4 fours and 2 sixes, while Tristan Payle took his time at number three as Suburbs cruised to a nine-wicket win with 5.1 overs to spare.

Waitakere 105/8 (J Challis 62*, C Brungar 3-10) lost to Suburbs New Lynn 111/1 (R Majithia 59*) by nine wickets.

East Coast Bays vs. Hibiscus Coast – Windsor Park

Cole Briggs gave Bays a reasonable start before a trio of run-outs and some impressive bowling by Hibiscus Coast’s bowlers kept the hosts in check. All five of skipper Brad Norris’ bowlers took a wicket as Bays scraped through to 122/8.

Coast were given a flier by Alister Sail, who took ten runs from the first three balls. The pressure then came on as Josh van der Sande turned the match in Bays’ favour. van der Sande ran riot taking four wickets in the powerplay. Coast were unable to recover. Kyle Kieser took a pair of wickets as Coast were eventually bowled out for 63.

East Coast Bays 122/8 (C Briggs 33) defeated Hibiscus Coast 63 (J van der Sande 4-14) by 59 runs.

Grafton vs. Cornwall – Victoria Park

Grafton made the most of their home conditions employing the spin of trio Harrison Ward, Carl de Beer and Hamish Robertson for the opening eight overs. The tactic paid off as Cornwall’s top order struggled to come to terms with the slow nature of the wicket. Young batsman Ben Megson fell one short of a deserved half-century as Cornwall scored 125/6.

Cornwall’s total never looked like being enough. Alex Edwards and Harrison Ward raced out to 74 before Abidine Sakande dismissed the opening pair from consecutive deliveries in the tenth over. It gave Cornwall an opening, but the in-form pairing of Nathan Fletcher and Michael Ruffell quickly put the game to bed, adding an unbeaten 52 for the third wicket.

Cornwall 125/6 (B Megson 49) lost to Grafton 126/2 (H Ward 47, N Fletcher 32*) by eight wickets.

Full game available

Parnell vs. Eden Roskill – Shore Road

Parnell’s opening bowlers Josh Fisher and Ollie Pringle started brightly before a pair of run-outs ended the knocks of Vamshi Puppala and Sanchut Chopra, the only two Eden Roskill top-order batsmen to find their feet. All-rounder Jeet Kumar battled the spin through the middle, but Pringle ensured Parnell would be the happier of the two sides with two wickets at the death.

Eden Roskill gave themselves a chance when Shaniel Sharma and Raja Sandhu removed Parnell’s opening pair of Ben Rae and Flynn McGregor-Sumpter from the first ten balls of the innings. The experienced duo of Ben Horne (63*) and Andy Lane (52*) battled through a tight powerplay. Parnell’s patience paid off as the pair flourished during the second half of the chase to keep the Peaches unbeaten start to the season in tact.

Eden Roskill 122/9 (O Pringle 3-24) lost to Parnell 125/2 (B Horne 63*, A Lane 52*) by eight wickets.

Papatoetoe vs. Howick Pakuranga – Papatoetoe Recreation Ground

Howick Pakuranga followed their week one blueprint of bowling first, bowling well and completing a routine chase after Donovan Grobbelaar (3-16) and Taine Jolley rattled Papatoetoe’s top order. Ish Sohi tried to lift the hosts to a defendable score, but Adam Jones (3-19) and Jamie Brown were also on the money with the ball. Pratik Lawande’s late cameo snuck Papatoetoe past 100 in the 19th over.

Papatoetoe hit back with the wickets of Bill Walsh and Brian Barnard in the powerplay. While the early blows made for a circumspect start, Daniel Young and Andrew Morrison took their time. The pair eventually broke the shackled, putting on an unbeaten 78 in good time as Howick Pakuranga had their second early finish in as many weeks.

Papatoetoe 103 (D Grobbelaar 3-16, A Jones 3-19) lost to Howick Pakuranga 104/2 (D Young 46*, A Morrison 40*) by eight wickets.

Ellerslie vs. Auckland University – Michaels Ave

Alan Burton’s explosive 63 helped Ellerslie to an imposing total and a convincing victory over neighbours Auckland University. Hassan Azad (30) did the bulk of the early scoring before Burton and Matt Wall took charge of the inning. Though University skipper Nick Stobart kept it tight from the other end, Burton’s knock was enough to get Ellerslie to 153/8.

University’s reply lacked a similar knock as visitors lost four wickets inside the powerplay. Ash Vodnala and Jonathan Low tried their best to get the chase back on track. Burton added a pair of wickets to his exhibition with the bat, before Parikshith Narsimhan finished the visitors off with three wickets off his own.

Ellerslie 153/8 (A Burton 63, M Wall 32, H Azad 30, N Stobart 3-18) defeated Auckland University 127 (A Vodnala 32, P Narsimhan 3-8) by 26 runs.

Birkenhead vs. Kumeu – Birkenhead War Memorial

Mohamed Shifaz lead the way with his second successive T20 fifty, hitting six fours and a six. It wasn’t simply a one-man show, however, as Pankaj Kumar and Shiran Pilana bolstered Shifaz’ efforts. Though Mayur Masand kept Birkenhead in the contest, Tazz Satti (45 off 15) peppered the boundary at the death giving Kumeu the momentum into the innings break.

Birkenhead’s chase started confidently. Laurie Agnew couldn’t go on with his start, but Akash Christian (57) and Arjuna Jayasinghe (54) could. When the pair took Birkenhead past 100 the hosts had the upper hand. Kumeu hit back when Birkenhead required 26 runs from 18 deliveries. First Kumar bowled Christian before Satti bowled a nerveless 19th over. Kumar returned to bowl the final over and conceded just eight runs as Birkenhead fell three runs short of victory.

Kumeu 167/5 (M Shifaz 54, T Satti 45) defeated Birkenhead 165/5 (A Christian 57, A Jayasinghe 54) by two runs.

Takapuna vs. North Shore – Onewa Domain

Max O’Dowd showed his class hitting a splendid 75 to lead Takapuna with the bat against North Shore. It wasn’t smooth sailing for Takapuna, losing two wickets in the powerplay. The rest of the top order were kept in check by Manaia Harris and spin duo Tendai Chitongo and Michael Olsen. When Harris nabbed the wicket of O’Dowd in the 18th over, Takapuna needed a big finish. Ryan Quinn managed three fours and a six lifting the Pirates to 163/8 as 32 runs came from the final two overs.

In reply, Graeme Beghin (45) flew out of the blocks as 19 runs came from the first over. The racy start continued into the third over with North Shore on track at 39/0. In the 9th over, Mike Sclanders turned the game on its head with the wickets of Olsen and Beghin before taking another two in the 13th. Sclanders spell swung the game and the Pirates never looked back. Tendai Chitongo hit 35, but Ryan Whelan’s accurate death overs ensured Takapuna a two-from-two start to the T20 Championship.

Takapuna 163/8 (M O’Dowd 75) defeated North Shore 137/8 (G Beghin 45, T Chitongo 35, M Sclanders 4-20) by 26 runs.