26 Jun, Sunday

Cornwall take out Prichard Cup

Club Cricket

Cornwall take out Prichard Cup

Vanilla BriefClub Cricket

The Mortgage Supply Co Prichard Cup competition came to a close on Saturday with Cornwall taking out the top spot. Going into the match with a one and a half point lead, Cornwalls win over Waitakere helped secure their title.

Cornwall v Waitakere

With Waitakere being short players due to other commitments and injury, it was a favourable toss for the visiting captain Samantha Curtis to win.

Electing to bowl first, her side would need to scalp early wickets. However, with the Prichard Cup up for grabs, Cornwall would fight just as hard. The opening Cornwall pair of Saachi Shahri and Sarah Carnachan put on a valuable 41 run stand to get their team off to a solid start. While Carnachan was dismissed for 9, Shahri went on to score an impressive 63.

The Cornwall batting line up continued to impress with Maddy Green scoring 41, Liz Perry contributing 66, and Francesca Wilkinson finishing not out on 49, helping the home team to a very defendable 267. The five wickets were shared between the bowlers with Regina Lilii ending the innings with tidy figures of 14 from her 10.

Waitakere got off to an attacking start scoring 57 from the first 12, before Clare Crooks got the key wicket of opener Sam Curtis (42). From here the team struggled to form partnerships with Cornwall steadily taking wickets. A valuable 41 from 45 deliveries by Nikita Parshotam helped Waitakere to 181, before the team was dismissed for 183. Clare Crooks was the pick of the bowlers for Cornwall with figures of 4 for 31.

Takapuna v Eden Roskill

A solid all round performance helped Takapuna secure their spot in second position.

Going in as favourites, the home side got off to a tidy start with the ball. Lulu Matthews claimed the first wicket of Alisha Hyndman (19) before going on to finish the match with figures of 4 for 17. A number of handy contributions from the Eden Roskill batting order helped the visiting side to a total of 181.

However, this proved too easy for Takapuna who chased the runs down with 8 wickets in hand. A massive opening partnership of 145 between Kerry Tomlinson (47) and Lauren Down (73) put Takapuna in a comfortable position to take the win. Despite losing their two openers, the side were able to reach their target before the 30 over mark, and string together a convincing all round performance.

Papatoetoe v University

With Yaz Kareem and Claire McKavanagh each claiming 3 wickets, the Papatoetoe side were restricted to defending 73.

Papatoetoe struggled to get off to a good start, losing 3 wickets in the first ten overs. Matile Tuilangi top scored for the home side with 27 from 42 deliveries.

University openers Ingrid Cronin Knight (33) and Katie Gurrey (38) convincingly chased down the total in style and with 10 wickets in hand.  The win helped University take out third place in the Prichard Cup.

The next T20 game will be played on Wednesday. The Premier Women one day competition will re-commence in the new year with the Pearl Dawson Trophy kicking off on the 31st January.

Final standings for the Prichard Cup:

Cornwall           12
Takapuna         10.5   
University         10.5
Waitakere          7.5
Eden Roskill      4.5
Papatoetoe        0