Bays and Howick Pakuranga advance to T20 Final

Club Cricket

Bays and Howick Pakuranga advance to T20 Final

Praneel HiraClub Cricket

Our first Honda Financial Premiership finalists of 2020/21 have been found after East Coast Bays and Howick Pakuranga won rain-hit T20 Championship semifinals on Sunday.

East Coast Bays 130/7 (C Briggs 35, J Plummer 3-16) defeated Papatoetoe 59/6 by 17 runs (DLS).

Victory over Papatoetoe at Windsor Park will see East Coast Bays get an opportunity to add to their 2012/13 T20 Championship. 

Batting first, Bays were made to work for a total. Papatoetoe kept openers Cole Briggs and Ryan Schierhout largely in check as Bays made a run-a-ball start through the powerplay. Briggs (35) forged on before Papatoetoe made the most of their tidy start. 

Bays lost wickets in the 10th, 11th, 12th and 13th overs as Josh Plummer (3-16) and Avnit Prasad (2-18) helped Papatoetoe seemingly take control of the game. Campbell Knowles (29) then rallied with No. 9 Caleb Gaylard, adding 36 in the final four overs. It was just the finish Bays needed, posting 130/7 from their 20 overs.

Two overs into Papatoetoe’s chase, rain interrupted play but not before Josh van der Sande (2-10) claimed the big wicket of Barrington Rowland. Ten overs had been lost by the time the players returned and, at 13/1, Papatoetoe required a further 64 from the remaining eight overs. 

Ryan Harrison (2-5) then went bang-bang in the third over and there was no way back for Papatoetoe. Having lost their top-order firepower, Bays snuck through some tight overs to drive the required run-rate up. Logan Clark (29*) fought to keep Papatoetoe alive, but he had little support as Papatoetoe finished 17 runs short of the DLS target of 77.

Takapuna 60/4 lost to Howick Pakuranga 67/3 by seven wickets (DLS).

Howick Pakuranga will host the 2020/21 T20 Championship final after a comfortable seven-wicket win over Takapuna.

Batting first, Takapuna’s innings never truly kicked into second gear as the Howick Pakuranga attack came out firing. When rain came at the end of the 6th over, Rowan Naude (2-14) and Matt Blandford had picked up three wickets and they proved to be gold-dust when DLS calculations were made.

The showers wiped away more than half of the match, giving the Takapuna middle-order just three more overs to lift their total to something they could defend. Though Daniel James finished with 18*, the Alpaca bowlers closed out the final stanza brilliantly, conceding just 17 from the last 18 deliveries.

Chasing an adjusted total of 64 from nine overs, Howick Pakuranga were steady to start. While the wickets of Scott Borland and David Winn fell in the 3rd and 5th overs, Bill Walsh (25*) provided the glue to the chase.

The game-breaking knock, however, was Donovan Grobbelaar’s 18 off 10, with the all-rounder relieving any tension at Lloyd Elsmore Park. Though Grobbelaar’s dismissal gave Takapuna a small glimmer of hope, Walsh showed his experience to send Howick Pakuranga into their third T20 final in four years.

Howick Pakuranga vs. East Coast Bays

Sunday 31st January | 2 PM
Lloyd Elsmore Park