Auckland Premier Cricket Short Report – 3 November

Today marked the return of two-day cricket for the 2018/19 season with the start of the Hedley Howarth and Tom Hellaby Championships.

In the Hedley Howarth, at Papatoetoe Rec, Cornwall won the toss and elected to bowl. This was a decision they may have rued early on as Papatoetoe made it to the 20th over before losing a wicket. Opening batsman Josh Plummer scored four sixes and five fours to reach 65 off 57 balls, but one too many shots saw him bowled. From there the run rate understandably slowed, and Cornwall were able to make regular breakthroughs to prevent Papatoetoe from fully capitalising on their strong start. Papatoetoe were dismissed for 201 after being 95 without loss.
Cornwall’s first innings got off to a stuttering start, with Evan Jones caught behind for four in the first over. Opening partner Amit Dhadwal played extremely conservatively to finish the day on 23 from 103 balls. The match is finely poised going into day two of play next Saturday. Cornwall are currently 90/3 and will be looking for a big partnership – something Papatoetoe will be aiming to prevent with a couple of early wickets.

In the Tom Hellaby Championship, Grafton welcomed in a new captain and a couple of debutants for their match against Ellerslie at Victoria Park. Both those debutants gave impressive performances – Dexter Marsh took five wickets as Ellerslie were dismissed for 151 in their first innings. And Olly Westbury, fresh off the plane from England, is currently on 84 not out – Grafton finishing day one on 218/4.

Hedley Howarth Championship – Round One, day one

Suburbs New Lynn v Takapuna

Takapuna 125 (S Setia 53*, G Harley 24; D Watson 3-27, J Presland 3-43) is playing Suburbs New Lynn 98/4 ( J Parslow 35; M Jones 2-17, R ter Braak 2-19)

East Coast Bays v Howick Pakuranga

East Coast Bays 164 (C Briggs 52, M Ross 32, T van Ingen-Kal 28; D Grobbelaar 4-31, R Botadra 3-55) and 6/0 lost first innings to Howick Pakuranga 197/6 dec. (D Winn 49*, D Phillips 47, D Grobbelaar 29; L Delport 3-76, B Smith 2-52)

Auckland University v Parnell

Auckland University 116 (C Lowen 44, CK Jasmat 20*; O Pringle 7-37) and 41/3 (C Lowen 17*; O Pringle 2-19) lost first innings to Parnell 248/7 dec. (A Lane 64, B Rodden 64, O Pringle 49; N Stobart 5-86)

Papatoetoe v Cornwall

Papatoetoe 201 (J Plummer 65, L Clark 34, H Vyas 33; F de Villiers 3-51) is playing Cornwall 90/3 (M Guptill-Bunce 28, Amit Dhadwal 23*, Aditya Dhadwal 21*; B Singh 1-5)

Tom Hellaby Championship – Round One, day one

Grafton v Ellerslie

Ellerslie 151 (D Patel 45, J Myers 38, A Edekar 33; D Marsh 5-44, J Parsons 2-22) lost first innings to Grafton 218/4 (O Westbury 84*, D Taylor 70, M Ruffell 30; M Wall 1-3)

Eden Roskill v Waitakere

Waitakere 146 (J Henderson 40*, S Mirza 34; R Sandhu 5-31, B Rowland 2-14) lost first innings to Eden Roskill 204/3 (S Chopra 74, B Rowland 57*, S Desai 42; J Henderson 2-42)

North Shore v Birkenhead

North Shore 309/8 dec. (R Thomson 82, T Chitongo 66, A Wickramanayake 52, M Olsen 45; T Treadaway 2-48) is playing Birkenhead 45/3 (T Tredaway 15*, R Bommala 15; T Chitongo 1-5)

Prichard Cup – Premier Women’s 50-Overs

Parnell 148 (S Naidu 53, S Carr 23, K Browne 23; F Jonas 5-18) lost to Cornwall 150/7 (K Perkins 45, B Armstrong 40, C Crooks 26; S Naidu 2-30) by three wickets.

Howick Pakuranga 82 (R Patel 31, A Bowden 17*; C Mains 4-18) lost to Takapuna 83/8 ( A van Deventer 39, M Probert 12; L Western 2-3) by two wickets

Unitak 154 (K Gurrey 64, K Anderson 48; L Telea 2-22, M Hyde 2-35) lost to Papatoetoe 155/7 (T Baldwin 50, L Telea 31, R Lilii 24; J Prasad 3-24, K Anderson 2-31) by three wickets