Auckland Premier Cricket Short Report – 14 October

Jeff Crowe Cup – Round Two

Auckland’s Premier club cricket headed into round two of the Jeff Crowe Cup today with some big centuries providing the highlights around the grounds.

At Victoria Park, Grafton were hosting Eden Roskill, the home side dominating with the bat before a competitive chase saw the home side get home by 54 runs.

Two superb centuries headlined the Grafton batting effort today, Nick Hendrie (142*) and Aniket Parikh (113) putting the Roskill bowling to the sword as they amassed a massive 329 first innings total.

A solid start laid the platform for Hendrie who came in at number three and dominated. His 142* included seven fours and five sixes, using only 120 balls in the process.

Hendrie shared in a massive fourth wicket partnership of 178 runs with Auckland Ace Aniket Parikh, the pair continuing Grafton’s impressive early season form with the bat.

Parikh’s knock was destructive – his 113 coming off just 79 balls, clearing the ropes seven times including an audacious upper cut for six off Aces team mate Raja Sandhu.

Tarun Nethula managed 3/68 from his ten overs, the only Roskill bowler to really trouble the Grafton batsmen.

With runs on the board, the home side were always going to be tough to beat, the bowling effort complimenting the batsmen’s stroke play.

It was the perfect start with Jack Parsons striking with his third ball to have Roskill in early trouble at 1/1.

After losing wickets, the middle order of Barry Rowland (53) and Prabjyot Rehal (55) went about starting the rescue mission for Roskill.

Rowland backing up last week’s half century with another solid knock but when Parikh claimed his wicket in the 23rd over the visitors were in a spot of bother.

Enter Nethula and Sandhu.

These two have shown their ability with the bat on more than one occasion and their partnership this afternoon would’ve had a few home fans at Vic Park nervous.

Sandhu smashed five sixes in his 49, striking at over 200, Nethula playing a run-a-ball supporters role as Roskill dared to dream.

However, it was that man Parikh who turned the game on its head once more, he claimed the vital wicket of Sandhu and was involved in the final run out to ensure Grafton got home despite a few heart flutters in the final stages.

In the day’s other action, Takapuna’s bowling attack stood up defending a small total as they rolled Papatoetoe for 79 to register their first win of the season.

In the Cornwall vs East Coast Bays fixture, it was one way traffic, Cornwall claiming a six-wicket victory, Amit Dhadwal with runs at the top.

It was another dominant display from Suburbs New Lynn, Jono Bassett-Graham’s maiden Premier century helping them to a massive 413/5 before the bowlers completed the job against Birkenhead.

At Parrs Park, the two Ben’s: Horne and Rainger did the job with the blade for Parnell beating Waitakere by eight wickets.

North Shore took out a competitive game at Vauxhall Road against Ellerslie by 83 runs.

Finally, Howick Pakuranga were too strong for University, Matt McEwan leading the bowling effort with 4/35.


Grafton 329/4 (S Variath 37, N Hendrie 142, A Parikh 113; T Nethula 3/68) defeated Eden Roskill 275 (BM Rowland 53, P Rehal 55, T Nethula 32, R Sandhu 49)

Howick Pakuranga 279/5 (B Walsh 62, D Grobbelaar 63, D Winn 57, S Borland 38) defeated Auckland University 193 (JAMH Silva 88; MM McEwan 4/35)

East Coast Bays 187 (C Ridge 53, S Langridge 67, R W Schierhout 36; F de Villiers 3/32, TN Nidamanuru 3/28, P Thomas 3/18) lost to Cornwall 188/4 (AM Dhadwal 62, TN Nidamanuru 42)

Takapuna 149 (RR O’Donnell 48; L Istead 3/37, A Sayed 3/19) defeated Papatoetoe 79 (M R Jones 3/19)

Waitakere 226/8 (N Fletcher 95, J Challis 46) lost to Parnell 227/2 (B Rainger 76, B Horne 118)

Suburbs 413/5 (JRM Bassett- Graham 150, MJ Barry 49, R Majithia 66, M Murray 30, JR Parslow 73) defeated Birkenhead 172 (D Steyn 39, J Curtling 49; H Vyas 5/40)

North Shore 296/7 (G Beghin 74, M Olsen 106, R Hira 87; J Hayward 3/32, S Harish 4/54) defeated Ellerslie 213/6 (A Alam 47, A Edekar 83, D Patel 36; A Wickramanayake 3/38)