26 Jun, Sunday

Guptill named Auckland Cricketer of the Year


Guptill named Auckland Cricketer of the Year

Vanilla BriefAces, Domestic Cricket

Martin Guptill capped a stellar season last night by being named the Auckland Cricketer of the Year.

Guptill was at the forefront of the Blackcaps performances at the Cricket World Cup where he was top run scorer for the tournament with 547 runs at 68.37. Along the way he hit two hundreds and one fifty, including that incredible record breaking 237 in the quarterfinal in Wellington, off just 163 balls and with 162 runs in boundaries. Those performances for the Blackcaps saw Guptill also take out the International Player of the Year award last night.

Guptill kick-started his return to the Blackcaps by smashing two hundreds for the Mondiale Aces in the Ford Trophy and then added to that with a century against Bangladesh and that incredible hundred in Wellington.

The evening also saw Colin Munro pick up Batsman of the Year after hitting 899 runs in the Plunket Shield including his record breaking 281 in Napier where he hit 23 sixes against the Stags.

There were repeat winners in the Me’s Bowler of the Year with Michael Bates again picking up that award on the back of claiming 67 wickets for the season, and Sara McGlashan made it two in a row by picking up the Wome’s Batsman of the Year award again after scoring 476 runs in the one day competition.

A full list of winners on the night were:

Auckland Cricketer of the Year – Martin Guptill
International Cricketer of the Year – Martin Guptill
Me’s Bowler of the Year – Michael Bates
Wome’s Bowler of the Year – Regina Lili’i
Me’s Batsman of the Year – Colin Munro
Me’s Bowler of the Year – Michael Bates
Young Player of the Year – Matt Quinn
Representative Coach of the Year – Nick White
Umpire of the Year – Phil Jones
Me’s Club Crickter of the Year – Carl Brungar (North Shore)
Wome’s Club Cricketer of the Year – Sam Curtis (Waitakere)
Carson Cup (Services to Cricket) – Rod Smith
Simmons and Osborne Shield (Club of the Year) – Takapuna