01 Jul, Friday

Auckland Aces playing for unity and pride in Dunedin


Auckland Aces playing for unity and pride in Dunedin

Praneel HiraAces

There’s no lack of desire in the Auckland Aces camp as they head into their final match of the season against the Otago Volts in Dunedin on Sunday.

The last round against Canterbury saw a virtual one innings match as both teams needed a win to keep in touch with Central Districts. The gambit didn’t come off, and the Aces bowed out of contention for the Plunket Shield.

Captain Robert O’Donnell says that both teams knew they needed a result.

“We had rain that affected the game in Rangiora, but both teams were keen to get onto the field,” he says.

“The game was played in great spirit. We set up a pretty even fixture but unfortunately Canterbury were just that bit better with the ball.”

Although the result was disappointing for the team, O’Donnell says there’s room to focus on the individual performances.

“There were a few guys who stood out – Sean Solia and Glenn Phillips with the bat in particular.”

“It was only our second loss of the Plunket Shield, and when you shorten the game individual moments have a bigger impact.”

Auckland now turns to the final match of the 2018/19 season against Otago. The two teams last played at the end of February in Auckland. The Aces won the encounter by an innings and 97 runs.

O’Donnell and his team are keen to finish the season well.

“We want to end it on a positive note, really sum up a great Plunket Shield campaign.”

“We’ve put in a lot of hard work and guys have come a long way since October.

“There’s a few youngsters who have really grown over the summer, who have shown the talent and potential they have.”

The Auckland Aces play the Otago Volts in round eight of the Plunket Shield at University of Otago Oval, Dunedin, from Sunday 17 to Wednesday 20 March. Each day’s play starts at 11:00am.

Auckland Aces squad to play Otago:

Robert O’Donnell (C)
Finn Allen
Graeme Beghin
Jamie Brown
Danru Ferns
Ben Horne (WK)
Ben Lister
Matt McEwan
Will O’Donnell
Glenn Phillips
Sean Solia
Will Somerville

Image credit: Photosport.co.nz