01 Jul, Friday

Aces prepared for southern showdown


Aces prepared for southern showdown

Praneel HiraAces

The Auckland Aces are looking to cement their finals spot when they face the Otago Volts in Invercargill tomorrow.

Auckland will be without pace spearheads Mitchell McClenaghan and Lockie Ferguson, but coach Mark O’Donnell is confident their bowlers will be able to rise to the occasion.

“Mitchell especially has brought real energy to his game, but guys like Ben Lister and Danru Ferns are more than capable of taking wickets in the early overs.”

O’Donnell says that with the inclusion of Michael Snedden to the squad, the Aces have plenty of bowling options.

Colin Munro has also been included, after hitting 143 runs from just 93 balls against Northern Districts last Sunday.

O’Donnell says it’s been great to have Munro back in the setup.

“He’s a great team man, so he’s fitted back in really well.”

“Obviously his performance in the last match was just fantastic, and we gain a huge amount being able to have him in the side.”

If Munro hits his stride against the Volts, the short boundaries at Queens Park could be under attack.

Wicketkeeper Ben Horne has also impressed after being moved up the order in the last three matches.

The Auckland Aces currently sit third on the Ford Trophy ladder, three points above Northern Districts. ND will play Wellington in Whangarei.

With the wild spring weather looming at both ends of the country, there will be a few nervous glances skywards.

However, O’Donnell isn’t interested in the weather forecast for Northland.

“We don’t want to be in a position where we have to rely on other teams or on the rain,” he says.

“I’m a simple man when it comes to things like this – I’m only interested in getting the result in front of us.”

The Auckland Aces will play the Otago Volts at Queens park in Invercargill, starting at 11:00 am.

Check out what Colin Munro has to say about being back for the Aces:

Auckland Aces squad to play Otago Volts

Craig Cachopa (C)
Michael Barry
Graeme Beghin
Danru Ferns
Roneel Hira
Ben Horne (wk)
Ben Lister
Matt McEwan
Colin Munro
Robert O’Donnell
Michael Snedden
Sean Solia