26 Jun, Sunday

Aces crush Stags in Ford Trophy Final


Aces crush Stags in Ford Trophy Final

James BennettAces, Domestic Cricket, Game Development

The Auckland Aces have won the Ford Trophy with a crushing six-wicket victory over the Central Stags at Pukekura Park today.

Chasing a modest 198 for victory the Aces batsmen looked in complete control throughout their innings, Robbie O’Donnell (22*) hitting the winning runs with a six over mid-wicket in the 33rd over.

Jeet Raval (47) and Glenn Phillips (63) got the boys off to a superb start putting on 84 for the first wicket to ease the nerves of the camp.

From there the middle order took over, Mark Chapman (47) and Craig Cachopa (10*) combining well before O’Donnell came in and slapped 22* to ensure the victory and the Ford Trophy spoils.

Earlier, Central Stags Captain Will Young won the toss and elected to bat first at Pukekura Park.

The Stags innings got off to an unfortunate start with opener Dane Cleaver (6) retiring hurt with a back injury.

Lockie Ferguson (3-28) was at his destructive best, picking up the massive wicket of George Worker (13) to give the Aces the perfect start.

Ben Lister (1-31) then snared the dangerous Jesse Ryder (5) to leave the Stags in an early hole at 27/2.

Young (49) and Tom Bruce (49) put on 101 for the third wicket to leave the match evenly poised at 128/2.

Tarun Nethula (2-24) came into the attack and swung the match in Auckland’s favour picking up the Stags Captain to expose the home side’s lower order.

Ferguson rammed home the Aces advantage picking up Tom Bruce, before spinners Nethula and Mark Chapman (3-41) ripped through the middle order to leave the Stags in dire straits at 135/7.

Doug Bracewell (40) played a lone hand at the bottom of the order for the Stags boosting his side up to 197 before Ferguson snared the last wicket to leave the Aces the modest total for victory.

For a full scorecard from the fixture, click here.