Auckland Premier Cricket Short Report – 1 April

Takapuna have claimed the Hedley Howarth crown for the second season running after a dramatic final day of two-day cricket.

Heading into the final day, Parnell were 35/3 chasing Takapuna’s first innings total of 251/9 declared.

They made a watchful start in the morning session, aware that a draw would be good enough to secure the Hedley Howarth title.

At lunch the visitors were 68/4, all results possible on a turning pitch at Onewa Domain.

However, an inspired session with the ball post lunch swung the game in Takapuna’s favour, Elliott ‘powerhouse’ Herd simply unplayable on his way to sensational figures of 7/59 from 27.4 overs.

Matt Jones chipped in with two of his own while Dan James bowled with great economy to finish with 1/10 from 10 overs.

Lalit Bose showed some fight in the middle order for Parnell, his 40 off 91 balls the only highlight as his side were bowled out for 105 in the middle session.

Having not reached the follow on mark, Takapuna put Parnell back in, the visitors only hope was to pile on the runs without losing wickets to add to their bonus point tally and potentially squeak the title.

Although quick Dan James had other ideas, taking three wickets in the first over to effectively wipe out any hope for Parnell. Captain Ryan Scivier putting his buckets to good use in the slips.

James continued on his destruction claiming one of the quickest five wicket bags in two-day cricket history with figures of 5/6 off 3.4 overs.

With the result now a forgone conclusion, Parnell conceded victory before tea, Takapuna adding the Hedley Howarth to their Jeff Crowe Cup success in a 2016/17 season to remember.

A special note must also be made for Parnell’s opening bat Tim McIntosh who has decided to retire at the end of this season.

McIntosh has been a long time servant for Parnell having reached the pinnacle of playing for Auckland and the BLACKCAPS, congratulations Tim on a superb career.

Meanwhile over at Victoria Park, Grafton having already sewn up the Tom Hellaby title added one more outright victory to their tally defeating Birkenhead.

The home side were dominating after day one and continued to shine, Dilan Peris ending his career on a high note taking 6/88 in the Birkenhead second innings.

Nick Hendrie then finished his season with a bang, scoring an unbeaten century to secure the outright victory.

In the bottom section of the Hedley Howarth, Suburbs New Lynn and Cornwall were fighting to stave off relegation.

Suburbs fell an agonising nine runs short of Howick Pakuranga’s first innings, the effort of Michael Barry and Jeet Raval not enough to avoid relegation for the Westies.

Cornwall on the other hand bowled with discipline, a full team effort with the ball helping to dismiss University for 234 and secure their spot in the Hedley Howarth for next season.

Papatoetoe and East Coast Bays played out a classic at Papatoetoe Rec, the home side claiming first innings points before collapsing in their second innings at the hands of Louis Delport and Jayden Quensell.

Meanwhile North Shore took a first innings victory over Waitakere and Matthew Wall fell just one run short of a century as Ellerslie lost first innings to Eden Roskill.


Top 4 – Hedley Howarth – Two Day Major

East Coast Bays 189 (K Seedall 49, Michael Ross 38; Navdeep Aujla 5/47, Lance Shaw 3/40) and 188 (L Delport 69, J Devine 33, C Briggs 33; N Aujla 6/96) lost outright to Papatoetoe 188 (Lance Shaw 44, Nathan Hattingh 50; Louis Delport 4/50, J Quensell 3/63) and 104/9 (all out) (A Patel 31; J Quensell 3/27, L Delport 3/31) Papatoetoe won first innings points.

Takapuna 251/9 dec. (Hendrik van Vuuren 63, Guy Harley 58, Elliott Herd 39; Hamish Robertson 4/57, Mitch McCann 3/70) won first innings over Parnell 105 (L Bose 40, E Herd 7/59) and 24/5 (D James 5/6)


Bottom 4 – Hedley Howarth – Two Day Major

Cornwall 365/6 dec. (Brad Chemaly 133*, AM Dhadwal 99, Jamie Hayes 48*, Shastryn Nair 35; Jeet Patel 3/109) and 126/6 won first innings over Auckland University 234 (B Beecroft 54, JAMH Silva 44, R Tuteja 37)

Howick Pakuranga 229 (Dale Phillips 57, Bill Walsh 54, Andrew Morrison 44*; Micheal Bates 5/29, Michael Barry 5/53) won first innings over Suburbs New Lynn 221 (M Barry 60, J Raval 59; D Ferns 3/50, B Walsh 3/36)


Tom Hellaby – Two Day Minor

Birkenhead 119 (Laurie Agnew 40; Alan Burton 5/8, Nick Stobart 3/35) and 214 (D Steyn 58, J Curtling 41, N Collins 76; D Peris 6/88) lost outright to Grafton United 144/4 dec. (Jarryd Walsh 69*, Alan Burton 30; Manoj Patel 3/30) and 190/2 (N Hendrie 103*, J Walsh 57*)

North Shore 230/9 dec. (Ben Wall 51*, A Choudhary 49, Ryan Thomson 30; Roneel Hira 3/78) and 55/1 (M Selby 31* won first innings over Waitakere 98 (T Duncraft 3/36, C Rajapaksha 3/27)

Eden Roskill 328/6 dec. (Barrington Rowland 116, Oyishik Chakraborty 73, P Rehal 54*; Melvyn Lucas 4/84) and 36/3 won first innings over Ellerslie 280 (S Harish 47, A Deshpande 35, A Edekar 74, M Wall 99; B Vora 4/93, B Rowland 3/64)