Auckland Aces

Developing Future Aces

A programme created by Auckland Cricket with an aim to develop and educate young cricketers in Auckland.

DFA v Northland 2nd XI @ Kaipara Flats CC on Sunday 26th February.


Northland 2nd XI 125 all out

DFA 127/5

Aditya Edekar 42*

DFA v Northland 2nd XI @ Cobham Oval on Sunday 29th January.


Northland 2nd XI 223/6

  1. St John 3/55


DFA 140 all out

  1. de Beer 58

DFA v NZ Croatia @ Cornwall Park on Thursday 1st December.


DFA 247/7

Benjamin Beecroft 74

Finn Allen 48

Adam Baard 43

Adam Jones 36*


NZC 248/6

NZC won by 4 wickets.

DFA team:

1. Benjamin Beecroft (Captain)

2. Daniel Young

3. Aditya Edekar

4. Jack Coman

5. Finn Allen

6. Michael Ross

7. Adam Baard (WK)

8. Adam Jones

9. Simon Keene

10. Ariyan Hassan

11. Matthew Gibson

12. Daman Bhatti

13. Keegan Russell

DFA game schedule for 2016/2017 season:

Game One = Sunday 30th October v Northland A @ Cobham Oval


DFA v Northland A

DFA 267 all out

Dale Phillips 90

William O’Donnell 81

Northland A 268/3


Game Two = Thursday 1st December v NZ Croatia @ Cornwall Park

Game Three = Sunday 29th January v Northland 2nd XI @ Cobham Oval

Game Four = Sunday 26th February v Northland 2nd XI @ Kaipara Flats CC

Game Five = Sunday 12th March v Hamilton Men @ Galloway Park

Game Six = Sunday 19th March v Waikato Valley Men @ TBC

About DFA:

We have changed from the old winter academy where players were committing for 10 weeks, to a 9 month commitment potentially over 3 years (should their age allow from 16 to 19 approximately).

Players have not been selected based on age groups, but on the ability and traits required for success at the highest levels in the future, therefore the decision making process has not been an easy one. The criteria are:

Current Ability (how they play the game now)
Potential Talent (player’s background, sporting history)
Performance Foundations (coachable, work ethic, resilience, motivation)

The programme will run from August to April, based on 1-2 evenings a week.

Auckland Cricket are looking to put a lot more resource and support in to our better younger players who we feel right now are showing some of the right attributes to play for the Auckland Aces in the future.

We would like the Developing Future Aces (DFA) programme to run in conjunction with district, club and school programmes where possible but in weeks where there are clashes we would expect the DFA’s programme to take priority.

It needs to be made clear that this is an initial selection and the players have to earn the right to stay in the programme which will be reviewed on an ongoing basis.

New players can become contenders for selection to the programme with consistent performances of a high standard in district, club and school competitions each season.

Selection for the Auckland U17 and U19 teams will draw from the wider pool of players competing in the district, club and school competitions. The players listed below are not guaranteed selection into these age group tournaments.


Developing Future Aces (DFA) First intake 2014/15:

Oscar Shepperson- Cornwall

Mitchell Murray – Suburbs New Lynn

Cole Briggs – East Coast Bays

Aniket Parikh – Cornwall

Daniel Young – Howick Pakuranga

Jared Challis – Waitakere

Ross ter Braak – Takapuna

Chris Groenink – East Coast Bays

Dale Phillips – Howick Pakuranga

Abrar Alam – Howick Pakuranga

Jack Parsons – Grafton

William O'Donnell – Takapuna


Developing Future Aces (DFA) Second intake 2015/16:

Ariyan Hassan – MAGS and Cornwall

Anubhav Thapa – St Kentigern College and Ellerslie

Aditya Edekar – St Kentigern College and Howick Pakuranga

Finn Allen – St Kentigern College and Auckland University

Keegan Russell – Westlake Boys High and Takapuna

Michael Ross – Rangitoto College and East Coast Bays

Taine Jolley – Pakuranga College and Howick Pakuranga

Hamish McLean – Kings College and Parnell

Victor Lister – Liston College and Waitakere

Angus McKenzie – Westlake Boys High and North Shore


Developing Future Aces (DFA) Third intake 2016/17:

Jack Coman - Sacred Heart and Parnell

Benjamin Beecroft- Westlake and University

William St John – Kings and Parnell

Clay Watson – AGS and Grafton

Zakk Finlay – Rosmini and Takapuna

Daman Bhatti - St Kents and Howick Pakuranga

Ryan Schierhout – Westlake and East Coast Bays

Ben Westerlund - Sacred Heart and Howick Pakuranga

Adam Jones - Sacred Heart and Howick Pakuranga

Adam Baard – Westlake and Takapuna

Simon Keene - St Kents and North Shore

Matthew Gibson - Sacred Heart and University

Christy O’Brien - Papatoetoe

Aue Parima - Papatoetoe

DFA Results: 2015/16 Season

Sunday 15th November

V Northland 2nd XI

@ Kensington Park

Result- Northland 2nd XI won by 83 runs.

Northland 2nd XI 181/9 (Ross ter Braak 3/26)

DFA- 98

Sunday 22nd November

V Waikato Valley Men’s Side

Match cancelled due to weather.

Tuesday 1st December

V NZ Croatia

@ Cornwall Park #1

DFA 336 (Jared Challis 145, Aniket Parikh 110) playing NZ Croatia 34/2

Match called off 10 overs into NZ Croatia's chase due to weather.

Sunday 24th January

V Northland 2nd XI

@ Cobham Oval, Whangarei

Northland 2nd XI 177 (Taine Jolley 4/31) defeated by  the DFA 178/7 (Michael Ross 60*) by three wickets.

Sunday 7th February

V Northland 2nd XI

@ Kaipara Flats Cricket Club - Match cancelled due to weather

Sunday 28th February

V Hamilton Men’s Side

@ TBC (Hamilton will be hosting this fixture) - Match cancelled due to weather